You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-07 10:20:44

jimmarch

Truly bizarre: Gnome works, Metacity does NOT...

...so what I've got here is a weird mash-up between classic X-windows and Gnome.

Gnome is clearly there but the window manager is way off.

Ummm...like help?

smile

I'm brand new to Arch, I have a year's worth of various .deb/.rpm systems...any assistance welcome.  Bigtime.

#2 2007-08-07 10:37:31

iphitus
Forum Fellow

Re: Truly bizarre: Gnome works, Metacity does NOT...

welcome to arch smile

could you offer some more description of your problem? what exactly do you see?

Last edited by iphitus (2007-08-07 10:37:44)

#3 2007-08-07 11:02:45

jimmarch

Well...first, there's a classic X-term clock (no text, hands) and a couple of terminal windows, exactly as if you'd installed X-windows first, but not gnome/KDE/etc. yet.

But THEN Gnome starts loading.  Each window that pops up, you have to "place" on the screen - they're first "ghost boxes" connected to your mouse cursor and place where you click.  And each is labeled.  There are separate windows for "top expanded edge panel", "bottom expanded edge panel" (yeah, the normal top and bottom Gnome panels!), the desktop is a separate window, and then if you go applications-internet-firefox fr'instance, it runs but you can't resize it and you can't "overlap it" properly.

At one point I got an error saying "metacity" wasn't running.  Clearly there's no window manager going on.

On a hunch I tried:

pacman -S compiz

...hoping that I'd at least get a 3D window manager.  Nope.  It loaded just fine, but isn't "engaged" and I don't see the normal tool to turn it on.

If I do System>Administration>Login Window (the ONLY choice under "Administration", not a good sign!) I get an error:

"GDM (The GNOME Display Manager) is not running.