You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-15 18:08:03

schimpfj

[Solved] First Install: Error retrieving file 'kernel-header...gz'

Hello All

I am new to archlinux but not to Linux, though not really a pro either.

I am trying to install archlinux 8 using the new iso provided by Thomas http://www.archlinux.org/~thomas/iso-without-addons/ because I had the same issue with NTFS driver than some others (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=36065)

When kicking off the installation (all of base) I am getting the following error:

Beginning upgrade process...
:: Retrieving packages from current....
error : failed retrieving file 'kernel-headers-2.6.22.1-1.pkg.tar.g (-> gz, but only g displayed)
warning : failed to retrieve some files from current
error : failed to commit transaction (unexpected error)
Package Installation failed

The installation CD, which was used to start archlinux installer, is mounted to /src. ls /src shows me arch and isolinux as subdirs.

Anyone an idea what I might have missed out?

Alternate: How can I do an ftp installation? I had no joy (and no experience) getting the network/Internet configured. I tried DHCP and manual configuration whereby I confirmed the values prompted for ip, subnet, etc.

schimpfj

Last edited by schimpfj (2007-08-18 11:41:05)

#2 2007-08-16 00:11:48

Doehni

Re: [Solved] First Install: Error retrieving file 'kernel-header...gz'

Sorry, I have no clue what's going wrong there... sad
Maybe inserting the official 2007.08 CD before installing all the packages helps?...

I also had the NTFS issues with the official 2007.08 install CD and that's what I did:

I took the older 2007.05 Duke CD (e.g. ftp://archlinux.puzzle.ch/iso/2007.05-Linuxtag2007) and installation worked perfectly there.
I just had to update a lot of packages with

pacman -Syu

With a fast internet connection it doesn't matter taking an older install CD since Arch will be absolutely up to date with every update you make. (due to the rolling release cycle)