You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-23 12:45:16

utor

Intel Chipset

Ok, well, this is one of the many times I've tried to install Arch (various GRUB issues kept me from getting this far). I've run the iso and everything went well this time. Now I'm here, stuck only with the command line, which I have very little experience with and my wireless internet chooses not to work.

So, now it's me and the command line. I've followed the Wiki guide and I had a friend helping me, but to no avail.

Onto the problem...

Intel PRO/Wireless ipw3945

I have all the patches and dependencies for this card, but my problem is setting it up. I've tried various means to make Arch recognize it, but none have worked/I haven't done them correct(?). So my rc.conf is back to normal with just a 'eth0="dhcp" ' alteration.

I know all my network information, I'm just looking to allow my card to be recognized. Any assistance? Thanks.

Right. So I'm using the latest release, too.

I've also use a few different distros from SuSe to Ubuntu and Kubuntu, so I'm fairly familiar with a GUI but I'm totally out of my element with basic command line.

Last edited by utor (2007-08-23 12:49:03)

#2 2007-08-23 14:13:07

tomk
Forum Fellow

Re: Intel Chipset

Turn off (temporarily) any encryption on your wireless AP/router. Edit /etc/conf.d/wireless and /etc/rc.conf as required, to include your essid and IP configuration. Restart your network.

If it doesn't work, check dmesg and your logs for useful info.

Once you have it up and running, you can install a GUI if you want, and re-enable your encryption, if you're using it.

One more thing - when you're posting here, it's a good idea to make the topic as relevant as possible. "Intel chipset" could mean a lot of things.

#3 2007-08-23 14:31:26

Ramses de Norre

I've added this in my rc.conf to enable my wireless:

wlan_ath0="ath0 essid ###### key ##############"
WLAN_INTERFACES=(ath0)
INTERFACES=(lo ath0)
gateway="default gw 192.###.###.###"
ROUTES=(gateway)