You are not logged in.

#76 2008-07-26 05:12:29

SyXbiT
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2008-06-28
Posts: 163
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I also agree that it seems un-Archy to include the whole OOo schebang. I just want Writer and Calc. I'll never use the other stuff.
Still, no biggie, i just removed all the other stuff from the gnome-menu (wasted HD space is negligible)

Offline

#77 2008-07-26 08:13:55

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

SyXbiT wrote:

I also agree that it seems un-Archy to include the whole OOo schebang. I just want Writer and Calc. I'll never use the other stuff.
Still, no biggie, i just removed all the other stuff from the gnome-menu (wasted HD space is negligible)

I don't know wtf you mean by un-Archy, but splitting packages is not a common thing to do in Arch official packages.
I already said that earlier, there are just 3 sources : core,binfilter,system which are regrouped in one openoffice-base package.
There is not one upstream source per application (one for writer, one for calc, etc)
Though, the openoffice-base PKGBUILD is still quite scary with a 220 lines long build fonction, but that might be OOo's fault, I don't know really. And to be fair, there are quite a few comments and newlines to make the PKGBUILD more readable.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#78 2008-07-26 18:00:19

SyXbiT
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2008-06-28
Posts: 163
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

by un-Archy i meant that Arch usually tries to give the user complete control over what is installed in his system.
and, in this case, it doesn't.

i'm sure people can do a PKGBUILD if they're hardcore, but i'm lazy smile

Offline

#79 2008-07-26 18:50:36

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

SyXbiT wrote:

by un-Archy i meant that Arch usually tries to give the user complete control over what is installed in his system.
and, in this case, it doesn't.

Yes it does, you have complete control over the installation of openoffice, in the sense that you can freely install and remove it. No choice is forced.
But it doesn't go beyond that, that's all.
kde packages are not splitted either, they just follow the sources provided by upstreams. However, the unofficial kdemod project does split the packages.
Anyway, you just seem to have a misconception of what Arch actually provides.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#80 2008-08-01 02:19:09

QuimaxW
Member
From: Papua New Guinea
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 227
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Will this beta3 ever get to the i686 repo? smile


"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose." -Jim Elliot

Offline

#81 2008-08-01 04:36:28

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

QuimaxW wrote:

Will this beta3 ever get to the i686 repo? smile

depends on when we will see i686 openjdk6 packaged

Offline

#82 2008-08-02 19:03:27

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

i686 openjdk6 and OOo 3.0 beta pkg available for testing.

Offline

#83 2008-08-02 21:40:27

faelar
Member
From: Amiens (FR)
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 232
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

It doesn't work for me, i686.
I have just installed openJDK, and visited java's website. I was warned about the 1.6 version (compared to JRE v6), but I think it's ok.
I try to launch /opt/openoffice-beta/program/soffice-beta.bin
The splash screen is displayed, but the application hang just after the progress bar rich its end.
Error :

(process:25861): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2248: initialization assertion failed, use IA__g_type_init() prior to this function

(process:25861): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_type_interface_add_prerequisite: assertion `G_TYPE_IS_INTERFACE (interface_type)' failed

(process:25861): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2248: initialization assertion failed, use IA__g_type_init() prior to this function

(process:25861): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_once_init_leave: assertion `initialization_value != 0' failed

(process:25861): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2248: initialization assertion failed, use IA__g_type_init() prior to this function

(process:25861): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_once_init_leave: assertion `initialization_value != 0' failed

What is wrong ? Thank you for the help.

Offline

#84 2008-08-02 21:44:43

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

what desktop are you running? have you set the var recommended in post.install message?

Offline

#85 2008-08-02 22:01:58

faelar
Member
From: Amiens (FR)
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 232
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I run openbox, the post.install message talked about gnome/KDE so I skipped it...
nevermind, with export OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome it works, thank you for pointing the mistake smile

Last edited by faelar (2008-08-02 22:07:44)

Offline

#86 2008-08-11 08:59:21

MartinZ
Member
From: Chiloé, Chile
Registered: 2005-06-10
Posts: 378

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

Both OpenOffice beta and devel versions crash when I click the "Tools" menu, getting a similar error to the one faelar posted. I already tried removing all config files and reinstalling everything with no luck. Does anyone have such a problem?

I´m using kde4 and already did the export gnome stuff (it looks horrible). I haven´t tryed openjdk, though.

Thanks a lot for the good work, guys.


All your base are belong to us

Offline

#87 2008-08-11 15:05:40

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I have the same problem infact with the windows menu, I think if u click anything in the menus it hangs.


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#88 2008-08-11 16:24:40

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I'm not seeing this. 64 bit, OOb3, and OpenJDK6 from testing.

Offline

#89 2008-08-11 16:37:48

arch0r
Member
From: From the Chron-o-John
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 597

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

is it possible to split the ooo package? ooo comes with too many features i don't want to install. actually i only need writer and the presenter app.

Offline

#90 2008-08-11 16:40:28

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

arch0r wrote:

is it possible to split the ooo package? ooo comes with too many features i don't want to install. actually i only need writer and the presenter app.

The OpenOffice people have addressed this a bunch of times. Basically there's very little of OpenOffice that isn't in the main part of the code -- mostly the GUI stuff.  Splitting it up would be a lot of work for almost no gain.

Offline

#91 2008-08-11 16:44:37

dyscoria
Member
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 1,007

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

arch0r wrote:

is it possible to split the ooo package? ooo comes with too many features i don't want to install. actually i only need writer and the presenter app.

If it get's split upstream (which apparently could be in the process of happening) then it'll get split in arch. Otherwise, it won't be split.

Could appear in the AUR if someone wants to do it.


flack 2.0.6: menu-driven BASH script to easily tag FLAC files (AUR)
knock-once 1.2: BASH script to easily create/send one-time sequences for knockd (forum/AUR)

Offline

#92 2008-08-11 22:16:10

ruscook
Member
From: Sydney Australia
Registered: 2007-08-27
Posts: 105
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I'm not worried about splitting it, it's only a 100M d/l. But I would love for it to be able to open files on samba and ssh shares. Gnumeric can and OO in Ubuntu can but not in Arch.

Is there a work around for this?
Thanks
Russ

Offline

#93 2008-08-11 23:20:39

ravster
Member
From: Queen's U, Kingston, Canada
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 285
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

ruscook: How is Ubuntu able to do this? Have they patched the vanilla build? 'Cause Arch policy forbids most patching.

Offline

#94 2008-08-12 05:04:23

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

ruscook wrote:

I'm not worried about splitting it, it's only a 100M d/l. But I would love for it to be able to open files on samba and ssh shares. Gnumeric can and OO in Ubuntu can but not in Arch.

Is there a work around for this?
Thanks
Russ

In OOo-beta/devel pkg I have set --disable-gnome-vfs\ to disable that feature. Afaik it would pull in some gnome dependencies other users don't want. At least gnome-vfs and what it depends on.

If somebody can make sure that gnome-vfs would be only an optional runtime dependency I might include it.

For splitting the pkg there's right now no way with makepkg. As long as makepkg doesn't support to split it I won't build each release a dozen times just to rm allmost all afterwards.

And this is the only place where splitted sources are available: http://download.go-oo.org/OOO300/ but I doubt they have a customized build process yet.

Anyway, we should rework our wiki site. It's totally outdated.

Offline

#95 2008-08-12 05:14:40

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

AndyRTR wrote:

And this is the only place where splitted sources are available: http://download.go-oo.org/OOO300/ but I doubt they have a customized build process yet.

Wow. That goes against everything I've read for the last few years. Now, only If someone with some skill would isolate out the file conversion code and mold into a standalone tool, that would rock.

Offline

#96 2008-08-12 07:59:09

ruscook
Member
From: Sydney Australia
Registered: 2007-08-27
Posts: 105
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

ravster wrote:

ruscook: How is Ubuntu able to do this? Have they patched the vanilla build? 'Cause Arch policy forbids most patching.

See Andy's answer it relates to the gnome-vfs integration. Unfortunately it's a compile time switch not run/install so if it's not there we don't have that feature.

Andy, any chance of 2 binaries for OO, Arch KISS and gnome compatible?

Russ

Offline

#97 2008-08-12 09:04:21

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

both. the devel and the beta pkg have --enable-gio\ included. it's the replacement for former gnome-vfs. maybe you need gvfs installed to make use of gio.

and no. i'm already offering 3 branches of OOo for 2 architectures. that's enough for me. use ABS to customize the build if you want.

Offline

#98 2008-08-12 11:10:39

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,479
Website

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

I don't know why, but I haven't found a single way to make spell check to work in openoffice-base-beta or devel. Is there something I'm missing, I know the new things are the extensions, but there is no extension for english spell check.


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#99 2008-08-12 11:29:10

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

i haven't had much time to "use" the new versions. i'm always happy when i can package the beast big_smile

can somebody please cleanup the openoffice wiki page? i'll add some notes for the recent changes then.

Offline

#100 2008-08-12 12:14:19

arch0r
Member
From: From the Chron-o-John
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 597

Re: OpenOffice 3.0 beta3 in testing

is jre/java only an optional dependency or a "must have". it's not installed on this machine and ooo crashes caused by this issue hmm

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB