You are not logged in.

#1 2007-09-06 12:40:39

Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 2

Intel Pro 2200 bg - Visible but no IP address


After having used Kubuntu/PCLinuxOS and a host of other distros I wanted to give Arch a try on my Averatec 3280 laptop.  All is well so far except the wireless connection.  I have searched in this forum and on Google for answers but nothing has helped so far.  My wireless is visible:

eth1      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"Csatlos"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:0D:88:F2:53:E5   
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=8/0  
          Retry limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:95C0-xxxx-EBC3-xxxx-F699-xxxx-xx   Security mode:restricted
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=85/100  Signal level=-45 dBm  Noise level=-85 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:1821   Missed beacon:2

ifconfig only shows eth0 and lo.
this is my /etc/rc.conf:

# /etc/rc.conf - Main Configuration for Arch Linux

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# LOCALE: available languages can be listed with the 'locale -a' command
# HARDWARECLOCK: set to "UTC" or "localtime"
# TIMEZONE: timezones are found in /usr/share/zoneinfo
# KEYMAP: keymaps are found in /usr/share/kbd/keymaps
# CONSOLEFONT: found in /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts (only needed for non-US)
# CONSOLEMAP: found in /usr/share/kbd/consoletrans
# USECOLOR: use ANSI color sequences in startup messages

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# Scan hardware and load required modules at bootup
# Module Blacklist - modules in this list will never be loaded by udev
# Modules to load at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a module with a ! to blacklist it
MODULES=(mii via-rhine ipw2200 ac97_bus snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-seq-oss snd-seq-device snd-seq-midi-event snd-seq snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-rawmidi snd-timer snd snd-mpu401-uart snd-ac97-codec snd-via82xx-modem snd-via82xx soundcore)
# Scan for LVM volume groups at startup, required if you use LVM

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# Use 'ifconfig -a' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available
# interfaces.
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#   - no hyphens in your interface names - Bash doesn't like it
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
wlan_eth1="eth1 mode managed essid Csatlos key restricted 95c0xxxxebc3xxxxf699xxxxe6" 
INTERFACES=(lo eth1 eth0)
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
gateway="default gw"
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up.  These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
#   - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up (dialog package required)
#   - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network-profiles

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
#   - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network netfs !networkmanager cups samba crond laptop-mode alsa ipw2200-fw wifi-radar)

# End of file

If you have any clue what I can do to get an IP address I would greatly appreciate it.


#2 2007-09-06 19:51:11

Registered: 2007-05-19
Posts: 33

Re: Intel Pro 2200 bg - Visible but no IP address

I had the same problem with wireless on my desktop but switching over to wifi-radar and running it as the last daemon on /etc/rc.conf solved it. Even the networkmanager works well but be sure to add yourself to the group network.


#3 2007-09-06 21:02:30

From: Arlington, VA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-29
Posts: 175

Re: Intel Pro 2200 bg - Visible but no IP address

I'm no expert when it comes to wireless or rc.conf but is there a reason you disabled the gateway?  Also, you have two entries for wlan_eth1 but no entry for eth1 which apparently is the interface to your wireless card.  What happens if you use good old iwconfig to connect?

iwconfig eth1 essid Csatlos
iwconfig eth1 key XXXXXXXX

For the strength of the pack is the wolf, and the strength of the wolf is the pack.


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB