You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-06 09:15:52

vbd

Kernel Update

I downloaded the archlinux iso and installed a very basic system to tinker
with it. Seems to be very nice at least for me wink

What I've never done before (I'm using linux since 1996  - since 2000 more or less on my desktop)
is an kernel update.
How to do with archlinux?
Will pacman -Syu do it?

Is it necessary to make a backup from the whole system? Partial (if yes what should I backup)?

regards
Volker

#2 2004-04-06 10:14:30

Xpop

Re: Kernel Update

The only thing I had to do after  pacman -Syu ...Was to update my  nividia driver...

#3 2004-04-06 10:31:53

dp
Website

kernel update works automagically if you run pacman -Suy, but if you use lilo, you must run it after update of kernel to be able to boot the new kernel

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

#4 2004-04-07 03:03:55

Win

Hi vbd.

As the previous posters have mentioned, all you really need is:

pacman -Syu

with some minor caveats: (a) making appropriate changes to /etc/lilo.conf file (and please make certain you also run lilo -v after you make the changes or you'll be rather unhappy with the results) or to /boot/grub/menu.lst, if you use grub; and (b) more significant changes if you upgrade from the 2.4 to the 2.6 kernel series.

If you've started with the 2.6 series, you shouldn't have much to worry about.