You are not logged in.

#1 2007-09-09 02:41:50

mezoko
Website

Ubuntu Sucks? or just me?

Everybody, or so it seems worship ubuntu but I've always ran into random problems and it really bugs me that people recommend this piece of garbage.

I have been running linux systems for over 2 years now. I know my shit pretty well. Now ubuntu is suppose to be an easy going distro for people who have never used linux before, right? Well whenever I've tried ubuntu I've always run into the strangest bugs that I don't have on any other distro.

1. Installed Ubuntu on a HP laptop, when I installed the Nvidia drivers using synaptic, screwed up X
2. Installed Ubuntu on a desktop when installed cvs from a brand new system, it hosed apt-get (apt-get broke)
3. Installed Ubuntu and then ndiswrapper, ndiswrapper would not work, no solution on internet to fix the problem
4. Installed Ubuntu and the build tools (system messed up, can't remember results, to long ago)
5. Installed Xubuntu, installed updates, try to launch terminal, crashed X (just recently)

I wasn't even doing anything unsupported. Everything was done from apt-get / synaptic package manager. Now I didn't spend a whole lot of time fixing this issues, I just said screw and moved on. The thing that I don't understand though is that everyone recommends ubuntu, but everytime I try ubuntu and run into this bugs. This would not be a n00b friendly experience.  I currently run arch, have ran gentoo, and learned slackware in my begging Linux days, so it is not like I'm a lost Linux User.

Am I just unlucky? Crazy? Dumb?
It just bugs me so much that so many people recommend such a piece of crap!!! Grr!!!

"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself." - Franklin D. Roosevelt

#2 2007-09-09 02:52:28

Allan
Pacman
Website

Re: Ubuntu Sucks? or just me?

A bit of flame bait there...  roll