You are not logged in.

#1 2007-09-29 00:58:01

hybrid

Which program(s) to watch DVB-T live-TV, get an EPG and record shows

Hi, I am about to buy a DVB-T USB stick and am trying to figure out what software I'm gonna use. I'm new to DVB (but I was using an analog TV card until now).

k, so this is what I want to be able to do: I want to be able to watch TV (pause, rew, ff), have an EPG accessible and if I could easily record TV shows that would be like the icing on a cake. I also have a homebrew serial ir-receiver (running with lirc) and I would like to be able to control as many of all these functions with my remote control.
I don't know if I have to utilize a couple different programs or if there are "suites" out there that can do all that. It should run on Arch on my "productive computer" - I only have one computer, I use it to listen to music, work.

I hope someone gets what I mean. smile
I'm looking forward for your replies.

#2 2007-09-29 21:58:36

hvidgaard

Re: Which program(s) to watch DVB-T live-TV, get an EPG and record shows

I think MythTV does just all that smile

#3 2007-09-29 23:57:06

retsaw

Kaffeine will do that, but I don't know if it has remote control support.  MythTV takes a bit of effort to set up and does seem to use quite a bit of RAM, but has got lots of features and is nice to use.  You'll probably prefer MythTV, but you might want to try Kaffeine out if you just want a simple program (relative to MythTV) for TV.

#4 2007-09-30 00:47:19

hybrid

MythTV does look good indeed. It would probably be my favourite app and my computer should be good enough (C2D E6300, 2GB RAM, ...), I just feel a little weird setting up a mySQL-server and what not to watch tv. :> but it seems to be the most convenient to use. Does anyone of you use MythTV on your regular computer (not on a different machine dedicated for that) and can tell me how (if) it affects your everyday computing experience? :>