You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-02 08:16:55

Yogev
Member
Registered: 2005-08-10
Posts: 34

HowTo install Arch win no cd?

Hello, i really want to install arch on my pc (arn't we all?:), and i had a lot of problems that won't let me install arch from a cd.
First, i've recently upgraded my burner's firmware, and now everytime i try to boot with the new cd's i get this msg:

Initrd.img Error...Isolinux: Disk Error 80 AX=4280

I've also tried old versions of arch that i had (0.7.2 - ftb and base), when i try the ftp it's saying tere is an "error fetching the packages list", with every server. With the base cd (0.7.2) i couldn't connect to the internet (i us dhcp on linux, so i usually don't have problems), and the files on the cd refused to work...

OK, so my question is, is there any way to install arch with no cd, from my windows 98 maybe?

Thanks advanced,


Yogev.

Offline

#2 2007-10-02 10:04:41

Matt3o
Member
From: Firenze, Italy
Registered: 2007-09-13
Posts: 126

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

install a base system locally (no FTP) with the most recent image your CD can read. Configure your nic and upgrade pacman

pacman -Sy pacman

and the whole system with pacman -Syu.

Or you can try with the tpowa's isos

Offline

#3 2007-10-02 10:15:25

RedShift
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-16
Posts: 230

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

You can also set up a DHCP server and use PXE to boot. The instructions are in the wiki.


:?

Offline

#4 2007-10-02 11:06:10

Yogev
Member
Registered: 2005-08-10
Posts: 34

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

About Matts3o's suggestion, as i already said in my first msg, my old 'base' refued to work, but i'll try it again. About the second suggestion, don't i need linux for this? and what is PXE exactly?

the guide is here

Last edited by Yogev (2007-10-02 14:11:40)


Yogev.

Offline

#5 2007-10-02 12:22:21

Matt3o
Member
From: Firenze, Italy
Registered: 2007-09-13
Posts: 126

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

is it a sata drive? if so, you could play a bit under the sata section of your mobo BIOS.

Offline

#6 2007-10-02 14:11:11

Yogev
Member
Registered: 2005-08-10
Posts: 34

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

i don't have a sata driver, but if it helps, this is the msg i get when i try to use the files on the base cd (or the current cd i mounted);

Buffer I/O Error on device hdc

Yogev.

Offline

#7 2007-10-02 14:27:22

Matt3o
Member
From: Firenze, Italy
Registered: 2007-09-13
Posts: 126

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

mmmh... you may try to boot with ide=nodma

Offline

#8 2007-10-02 18:20:56

Yogev
Member
Registered: 2005-08-10
Posts: 34

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

Matt3o wrote:

mmmh... you may try to boot with ide=nodma

How do i do this?


Yogev.

Offline

#9 2007-10-03 08:41:01

Matt3o
Member
From: Firenze, Italy
Registered: 2007-09-13
Posts: 126

Re: HowTo install Arch win no cd?

can you reach the boot prompt?
if so you can add some parameters that may help you booting from your cd. Try with ide-legacy or ide=nodma (anyway read the onscreen help).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB