You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-06 22:38:25

thorro
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2007-05-05
Posts: 25

wine not upgraded

Wine has a bad upgrade history in Arch.. last package in extra is 0.9.44

Release history
August 24, 2007: Wine 0.9.44 Released
September 14, 2007: Wine 0.9.45 Released
September 28, 2007: Wine 0.9.46 Released

I tried to build my own package, but noway i could do it.
I studied the wiki and the forum but didnt help me at all... sad
Is it possible to upgrade it more often. So I can play WoW without to much fuzz.

Arch is a greate distro


Thor-Inge


C2D E8500 Nvidia 7950 512mb    WD 500Gb sata   4giga ram   Samsung SyncMaster 226BW, 1680*1050
wowaddict http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet … n=Slackers

Offline

#2 2007-10-06 23:09:58

Gilneas
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2006-10-22
Posts: 320

Re: wine not upgraded

It's really not that hard to compile it yourself. This is what I do on every wine release (I think) (code below is not tried, but you get the drift):

tar xfz wine-0.9.46.tar.gz
rm !$
cd wine-0.9.46
./configure --prefix=$HOME/util/wine46
make depend && make && make install
#update the PATH variable
echo -e ",s/PATH=/PATH=$HOME\/util\/wine46\/bin:/\nwq\n" | ed $HOME/.bashrc
#unless you don't have one. Then do
echo PATH=$HOME/util/wine46/bin >> $HOME/.bashrc
#maybe re-read it
source $HOME/.bashrc
#and do that thing where it updates the wine registry
wineprefixcreate

Last edited by Gilneas (2007-10-06 23:11:01)

Offline

#3 2007-10-07 00:01:32

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,484
Website

Re: wine not upgraded

I know, this also bugs me a bit, but if you come to think about it, the developers do the best they can. It must be a waste of time for them having to upgrade wine that much in so little time frames. 3 releases in 1 month and a half? thats a lot I think. Also the developers have enough with packages like, kernel, which upgrade often and sometimes firefox. wink


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#4 2007-10-07 08:44:24

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: wine not upgraded

Gilneas wrote:

It's really not that hard to compile it yourself. This is what I do on every wine release (I think) (code below is not tried, but you get the drift):

tar xfz wine-0.9.46.tar.gz
rm !$
cd wine-0.9.46
./configure --prefix=$HOME/util/wine46
make depend && make && make install
#update the PATH variable
echo -e ",s/PATH=/PATH=$HOME\/util\/wine46\/bin:/\nwq\n" | ed $HOME/.bashrc
#unless you don't have one. Then do
echo PATH=$HOME/util/wine46/bin >> $HOME/.bashrc
#maybe re-read it
source $HOME/.bashrc
#and do that thing where it updates the wine registry
wineprefixcreate

Even easier, and probably better would be to use ABS to get the PKGBUILD and install files, change the version number and just makepkg.


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

#5 2007-10-07 12:08:54

thorro
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2007-05-05
Posts: 25

Re: wine not upgraded

Even easier, and probably better would be to use ABS to get the PKGBUILD and install files, change the version number and just makepkg

Don't know what i tried to do earlier.. but this worked.
I copied PKGBUILD and wine.install to /var/abs/local/wine-0.9.46 and
edited PKGBUILD to right version number and did  makepkg -i

smile

Thor-Inge the noob


C2D E8500 Nvidia 7950 512mb    WD 500Gb sata   4giga ram   Samsung SyncMaster 226BW, 1680*1050
wowaddict http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet … n=Slackers

Offline

#6 2007-10-12 21:36:04

Hydraulix
Member
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 21

Re: wine not upgraded

I understand that you can compile your own code when there's an update. But, if I have to do that, then why even bother with pacman at all? The whole reason I use a package manager is to get the latest and greatest packages (and their dependencies). I also understand that devs get busy at times, but how hard could it be to upgrade wine once in a while? Arch still wants to install wine-0.9.44-1 (which doesn't play nice with WOW btw) and wine 0.9.47 was just released today. If you need help, what can I do to help?

Offline

#7 2007-10-12 23:33:17

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,484
Website

Re: wine not upgraded

Hydraulix wrote:

but how hard could it be to upgrade wine once in a while? Arch still wants to install wine-0.9.44-1 (which doesn't play nice with WOW btw) and wine 0.9.47 was just released today. If you need help, what can I do to help?

Have you ever compiled wine? it takes like an hour on my machine and I have 1GB RAM and 2.2Ghz CPU, so I think this is time consuming for the maintainer, even tough I would like the upgrade to be made, I just understand their situation.


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#8 2007-10-13 00:23:56

Hydraulix
Member
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 21

Re: wine not upgraded

kensai wrote:
Hydraulix wrote:

but how hard could it be to upgrade wine once in a while? Arch still wants to install wine-0.9.44-1 (which doesn't play nice with WOW btw) and wine 0.9.47 was just released today. If you need help, what can I do to help?

Have you ever compiled wine? it takes like an hour on my machine and I have 1GB RAM and 2.2Ghz CPU, so I think this is time consuming for the maintainer, even tough I would like the upgrade to be made, I just understand their situation.

Trust me, I know all about compiling programs (former Gentoo user). Nothing beats installing KDE on a G3 500mhz iBook using Gentoo. Took about three days of non stop compiling. Anyway, you just proved my point. It takes about an hour on your machine. Not days, or even weeks. You mean to tell me the maintainer can't script something out to upgrade in an hours time?

Offline

#9 2007-10-13 00:36:51

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,484
Website

Re: wine not upgraded

Well, if you know then, thats good if you know how much it takes, but is he only maintaining wine? he isn't involved in any other project? He has a life? Family? Social Life? I know we want to have the latest, but it makes no sense when you just seat and whine in the forums, which by the way aren't much frequented by developers. So maybe you should try contacting the developer personally.


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#10 2007-10-13 11:17:58

thorro
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2007-05-05
Posts: 25

Re: wine not upgraded

Now that i know how to build the package .I don't mind doing it myself.
With my pc it does not  take to long. My problem is linux knowledge. but slowly i learn more and more.
But where do I find md5sums for wine

Last edited by thorro (2007-10-13 13:24:22)


C2D E8500 Nvidia 7950 512mb    WD 500Gb sata   4giga ram   Samsung SyncMaster 226BW, 1680*1050
wowaddict http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet … n=Slackers

Offline

#11 2007-10-13 15:20:44

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: wine not upgraded

Running makepkg -g would generate the md5sum field for you, but since you're just doing a local build of wine you might as well just remove the field and ignore the warning from makepkg. It'll still build fine, the md5sum is just to verify the sources was downloaded without any problems.


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

#12 2007-10-13 15:32:34

ProzacR
Member
Registered: 2007-04-29
Posts: 272

Re: wine not upgraded

If developers are short on time or cpu power so ok: then let some people from comunity to compile it and share with everyone.
And so many wine vesions means that ppl from wine work hard. Or not?

Offline

#13 2007-10-13 15:35:43

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: wine not upgraded

ProzacR wrote:

And so many wine vesions means that ppl from wine work hard. Or not?

As wine is a rather complex software, there are often regressions in newer versions, so you don't always want to upgrade ASAP to the latest one.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#14 2007-10-13 15:45:29

ProzacR
Member
Registered: 2007-04-29
Posts: 272

Re: wine not upgraded

So good then we keep on .44 because it is better than latest.

But I want to expand this topic:
And why we still keep gtk 2.10 when latest is 2.12?

Offline

#15 2007-10-13 15:53:15

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,484
Website

Re: wine not upgraded

Because 2.12 is in testing, is the same, applications need testing so they can be assured to be of quality when released and upgraded to a stable system. Don't be such "latest is greatest" type of person. Applications do need to be tested, if not, and all this applications were upgraded at the upstream release moment, then all you would be whining: "<fillintheblank> breaks my system after upgrade, cause <fillintheblank> doesn't play with this <fillintheblank> I have installed, yet."

So please calm down people, latest is not greatest, repeat with me.


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#16 2007-10-13 15:57:05

ProzacR
Member
Registered: 2007-04-29
Posts: 272

Re: wine not upgraded

kensai you talk like ppl from Debian with their two years old "stable".

Offline

#17 2007-10-13 16:26:26

thorro
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2007-05-05
Posts: 25

Re: wine not upgraded

Think this tread is way of  now.
I got the help i needed and pleased with it.
Wine is not always up to date in Arch and thats it.
If people wants talk about Arch and the updating frequency ,start a new thread please.


C2D E8500 Nvidia 7950 512mb    WD 500Gb sata   4giga ram   Samsung SyncMaster 226BW, 1680*1050
wowaddict http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet … n=Slackers

Offline

#18 2007-10-13 16:36:22

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,484
Website

Re: wine not upgraded

Please lock this thread Admins, some people want to remain at a mental ignorance state forever. There's no logic that can convince them that what they say is completely illogical and what they will do in life is, always whine.

Last edited by kensai (2007-10-13 17:11:53)


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#19 2007-10-13 17:09:40

ProzacR
Member
Registered: 2007-04-29
Posts: 272

Re: wine not upgraded

Logic?? I like logic big_smile
So how much time is enough for testing? Sometimes 0 sometimes 5 months?
There is no logic. Then there will be some logic explanation about actions and not just 2 usless stupid posts from same memb about person types I will be convinced.

Offline

#20 2007-10-13 18:45:14

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: wine not upgraded

thorro wrote:

If people wants talk about Arch and the updating frequency ,start a new thread please.

Or search for an old thread, its all been said before. As far as I can tell, the original thread here has been answered.

Dusty

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB