You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-17 12:57:08

RobK
Member
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 121

Can't get evilwm to run.. Need help

I am using selectwm to select my window manager after running startx at the command line. 

I have installed the evilwm from core.   And have added /usr/bin/evilwm to my .selectwmrc file.

When I run eveilwm, it crashes X and complains "can't find a font to use: try starting with -fn fontname".

It sounds like there may be a missing dependency in the evilwm package.  Are others having this problem?

Rob

Offline

#2 2007-10-28 18:30:27

gunnihinn
Member
From: Torreón, Mexico
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 80

Re: Can't get evilwm to run.. Need help

Yup, exact same problem. Same error message and all. I'm not using selectwm though, just plain startx.

Haven't got much in the way of a solution, though.

Last edited by gunnihinn (2007-10-28 18:31:26)

Offline

#3 2007-10-28 18:49:22

gunnihinn
Member
From: Torreón, Mexico
Registered: 2007-10-28
Posts: 80

Re: Can't get evilwm to run.. Need help

Got it. big_smile

The problem was that xorg didn't have the 75dpi or 100dpi fonts installed in /usr/share/fonts, the problem was quickly fixed by typing

   pacman -S xorg-fonts-100dpi

for me (75dpi may be better for you, the value closer to the output of "xdpyinfo | grep resolution" is the one you want), killing x and starting it again with Evilwm as the manager.

Hope this solves your problem.

Offline

#4 2007-11-18 00:19:03

abstracity
Member
From: Houston, USA
Registered: 2007-08-08
Posts: 83

Re: Can't get evilwm to run.. Need help

Thank you gunnihinn for your solution, it worked.  Would somebody update this PKGBUILD to echo a message informing the user that either xorg-fonts-100dpi or xorg-fonts-75dpi have to be installed, if this has not been done so already?  Another fundamental package may solve the problem but I can confirm the above method of installing xorg-fonts-100dpi worked.


Without error there can be no brilliancy. ― Emanuel Lasker

Offline

#5 2012-06-14 12:46:50

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Can't get evilwm to run.. Need help

5 years later, I had the same problem.  I came to this thread and it fixed it.   I'm not sure who maintains evilwm, but I had the same problem on other systems as well.  (For example, built it on Fedora and it failed with the same error message).

As it was the first hit when I searched the error message, I figure it's worth mentioning that the same fix still works, even though the thread itself has been dead for years.

Offline

#6 2012-10-18 15:30:51

Pranavg1890
Member
From: Nagpur,India
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 111

Re: Can't get evilwm to run.. Need help

Yeah , this works even in 2012!! By the way, evilwm is great wm. I love it. Thanks for solution.


Using Openbox + Tint2 + Idesk

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB