You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-17 13:20:00

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Another GRUB installation prob

Hey all!I am using Archlinux-x86_64-2007.08-2.core.iso  and all are ok,but when i'm going to install bootloader,and more specifically GRUB,i get "Error installing GRUB.(see /dev/tty5 for output)"...

You can see this in the /boot/grub/menu.lst:

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro
initrd /kernel26.img

I also want dual boot with Win XP so i might need to change these lines also:

# (1) Windows
#title Windows
#rootnoverify (hd0,0)
#makeactive
#chainloader +1

Can you please tell me if and what i need to change so to make the install correctly?

Thank you and sorry if my English are bad...

Last edited by Archerbee (2007-10-17 13:23:07)

Offline

#2 2007-10-17 14:47:50

ndlarsen
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 157

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

A little more info on partition layout would be helpful, otherwise we have no chance of helping you out.


I made it long
as I lacked the time to make it short...

Offline

#3 2007-10-17 15:02:33

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

Partition info would indeed come in handy.  Also, is your kernel not at /boot/vmlinuz26, instead of /vmlinuz26?

Edit: typo.

Last edited by peart (2007-10-17 15:04:06)

Offline

#4 2007-10-17 15:39:07

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

Here:

sda1 /
sda2 swap
sda5 /boot
sda6 /mnt/repos
sda7 /var
sda8 /home

And sorry for keeping you waiting...

Offline

#5 2007-10-17 16:04:06

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda1 ro
initrd /boot/kernel26.img

Please give this a try.  Hopefully it'll work.

Offline

#6 2007-10-17 16:15:38

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

Should i change something so i can boot windows that are in sda3?

Last edited by Archerbee (2007-10-17 16:32:37)

Offline

#7 2007-10-17 18:37:19

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 801

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

This whole thread looks totally wrong sad

"root (hd0,0)" tells grub to look at partition 1 for the kernel and modules
"root=/dev/sda3" says Arch is installed on partition 3

But then in the partition table post:

"sda1 /" says arch is installed on partition 1, NOT 3
"sda5 /boot" says the kernel is on partition 5, NOT 1

Suggesting "kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda1" would mean arch is installed on partition 1, AND on partition 1 there is a /boot directory containing the kernel (no separate boot partition). This may well be the case, but no evidence so far.

Then a post saying windows is on partition 3 (according to the first post, that's where Arch is)

There are two scenarios:

1) You installed Arch with no separate boot directory. Lets' suppose it is installed on partition 1:

peart's code will work

2) You installed Arch on one partition and have a separate partition for the kernel/initrd

If the "partition table" post is right and Arch is on 1 and kernel is on 3:

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda1 ro
initrd /kernel26.img

Notes:
a) (hd0,2) is the third partition as these start from zero
b) there is no "/boot" before the kernel and initrd as grub loads these from partition 3
c) /hda1 says once the kernel has loaded (from 3), run Linux with partition 1 at the root
d) the /etc/fstab may mount partition 1 under a directory called "/boot" found on partition 3

Last edited by vacant (2007-10-17 18:41:14)

Offline

#8 2007-10-18 10:19:01

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

I tried all that you said but nothing seems to work...Always i get "Error installing GRUB.(see /dev/tty5 for output)"!:(
What must i put when it asks for path to install bootloader and full path to root???:(

Sorry guys but i'm really stuck here and i really wanna install Arch Linux!:(

Last edited by Archerbee (2007-10-18 10:27:30)

Offline

#9 2007-10-18 12:48:08

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 801

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

I still don't know (a) the partition Arch is installed to and (b) the partition where the kernel & initrd are.

Anyway if you're sure you have this info you can install grub manually as root, here is what I get:

grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
 (hd0,0)
 (hd0,2)
 (hd1,0)
 (hd1,1)
grub> find /grub/stage1

Error 15: File not found

I have four linux distros on two disks. I don't have a separate boot partition for my kernels, each distro partition has a /boot directory where there is a grub directory containing "stage" files, menu.lst etc

I want grub to use the stage files and menu.lst from hd(0,2), I can use the [TAB] key to get valid options

grub> root (hd[TAB]
 Possible disks are:  hd0 hd1

grub> root (hd0,[TAB]
 Possible partitions are:
   Partition num: 0,  Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
   Partition num: 1,  Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x82
   Partition num: 2,  Filesystem type is reiserfs, partition type 0x83
   Partition num: 3,  Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

grub> root (hd0,2)

Then, I want to specify where I want grub boot loader to be installed, you can use "tab completion" again to check the syntax. Here I choose the MBR

grub> setup (hd0)
.
.
grub> quit

Grub copies the boot loader, stage 1 and correct stage 1.5 files to the right (small) place.

When grub boots, stage1 just chains to the next block where the correct stage 1.5 file has been copied during install. The stage 1.5 file has enough code to navigate the files system type (reiserfs, e2fs) for the partition you specified in the grub "root" command and loads stage2 which reads the menu.lst to get your boot menu etc.

If you get problems, check device.map in the grub directory you're trying to use and make sure your disks are properly entered/defined.

Last edited by vacant (2007-10-18 12:50:29)

Offline

#10 2007-10-18 20:32:02

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,416

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

Judging from archerbee's posts this is the partition table :

sda1 /
sda2 swap
sda3 Windows
sda5 /boot
sda6 /mnt/repos
sda7 /var
sda8 /home

Assuming i am correct :
your kernel and initrd are on /dev/sda5
Arch is installed on /dev/sda1

Try this : 
grub> root hd(0,4)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit

In boot/menu.lst use this :

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda1 ro
initrd /kernel26.img


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#11 2007-10-18 21:23:05

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

You are right about the partition table Lone_Wolf...You mean in /boot/grub/menu.lst ,right?:rolleyes:


Let me try the things you told me and i'll inform you about the results...:)

Last edited by Archerbee (2007-10-18 22:05:41)

Offline

#12 2007-10-19 07:59:22

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

Tried the commands Lone_Wolf told me but:

When i type setup (hd0) i get:

Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... no
Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists... no

Error 15: File not found

I tried searching as vacant told me but i couldn't find stage1...:/

Note:Lone_Wolf is correct about the partition table...It's exactly like this:

sda1 /
sda2 swap
sda3 Windows
sda5 /boot
sda6 /mnt/repos
sda7 /var
sda8 /home

Last edited by Archerbee (2007-10-19 08:40:32)

Offline

#13 2007-10-19 10:35:28

fumbles
Member
Registered: 2006-12-22
Posts: 246

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

# (1) Windows
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd2,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Should work for that.
Try the 'grub-install' script. You can use a liveCD to do that too.

Offline

#14 2007-10-19 16:20:41

Archerbee
Member
Registered: 2007-10-17
Posts: 75
Website

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

Ok now the stage1 with the other files are in the /mnt/boot/grub/ but when i give the setup command i get the same error again:

Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... no
Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists... no

Error 15: File not found

sad:(:(

Offline

#15 2007-10-20 11:43:10

fumbles
Member
Registered: 2006-12-22
Posts: 246

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

You haven't got a liveCD distro around there by any chance? Would save a lot of time.

The stage1 files could be corrupted or somehting.

Offline

#16 2008-04-19 05:32:02

Oblong_Cheese
Member
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 41

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

I'm having a similar issue installing Arch using the latest RC ISO on my new XPS M1330.

GRUB complains it cannot find /boot/grub/stage1 but if I ls /mnt/boot/grub there is clearly a stage1 file there.

Here's my menu.lst

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd /boot/kernel26.img

Doesn't work with /boot prepended (as above), doesn't work without /boot prepended.

I only have one hdd, /dev/sda, and my windows partition is: /dev/sda1, my swap: /dev/sda2, my arch root: /dev/sda3 -- so no idea what I'm going wrong. Any ideas?

Offline

#17 2008-04-19 14:22:23

bender02
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: Another GRUB installation prob

"root (hd0,0)" should be "root (hd0,2)", so that it points grub to arch partition and not to windows partition.
EDIT: after the change you need to reinstall grub ("install-grub /dev/sda /dev/sda3"), or however you installed grub in the first place.

Last edited by bender02 (2008-04-19 14:24:29)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB