You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-24 14:18:22

djre

how far can i go?

Hi. Im a bit new to linux. I heard about Arch and wanted to try it.  So Ive read the general installation guide and Im confused. Its either the installation is very easy or its too hard and the guide was a very high level of abstraction of the installation process. Anyway without any knowledge of scripting, how far could i go with the installation? Suppose I could finish the basic installation, what exactly do I have? Do I have a window manager, or is that still far ahead?

Thanks in advance.

#2 2007-10-24 14:25:25

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: how far can i go?

AFAIK you don't need to know any scripting to install Arch, however you would benefit from knowledge of the initial configuration files (rc.conf, mkinitcpio.conf, grub/lilo configs, etc.)

If you do the basic installation (which is recommended) you get yourself into a text-based console, from which you can begin installing other applications.  If you want a window manager, it's as simple as

pacman -S kde

or

pacman -S gnome

or

pacman -S xfce  (.. or xfce4, can't remember right now)

and so on - after which you have to set up an xorg.conf (and possibly ~/.xinitrc) and run startx.

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners_Guide <-- recommended reading

#3 2007-10-24 14:27:37

Sigi

The installation of Arch is really as easy as in the installation guide. Once the base installation is finished, your only a "pacman -Sy dwm" (or similiar) away from having a system with a window manager. Just try it and report back here if you have problems. Some interesting reads:

Although you prolly already read this one: Arch install guide

If you like kde:
kdemod

If you like gnome:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GNOME

btw, the new isos 2007.11 are out!

Cheers Sigi

Haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

#4 2007-10-24 14:45:04

djre