You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-25 11:37:57

perseus

fonts / hinting

I have just switched to an lcd monitor using the DVI input.  Fonts were terrible at first, but switching to cairo-lcd and libxft-lcd has improved matters enormously.  Many thanks to the developer smile

I am still learning, and trying to optimise things to my liking.  Can anyone confirm (or deny) that I am right in thinking as follows :

(a) Autohinting and the (patented) bci are alternatives.

(b) The patented bci is compiled into Arch.

(c) The patented bci is overriden if /etc/fonts/conf.d has the symlink to 10-autohint-conf, and is available if the symlink 10-unhinted-conf is used instead.

(d) If I use the patented bci, then I can control the level of hinting by a stanza in ~/fonts.conf, such as :

<match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="hinting" >
   <bool>true</bool>
  </edit>
</match>
<match target="font" >
  <edit mode="assign" name="hintstyle" >
   <const>hintslight</const>
  </edit>
</match>

Thanks.

#2 2007-10-26 17:10:55

japetto

#3 2007-10-27 09:23:52

perseus

Re: fonts / hinting

Thank-you for responding japetto.

I had read that wiki page (and all the references to fonts in the wiki as well as a lot of forum posts), but I was still not certain about things. This is the section of the wiki in question which confused me a little and led to my forum post:

The bytecode interpreter makes my fonts look crappy, and it's compiled in, do I need to recompile?

Nope, not at all. Freetype's internal auto-hinting is just shut off. In some distros, the bytecode interpreter is compiled in and enabled by default. As a result, the bytecode interpreter overrides the freetype autohinter (which the developers are very proud of). To force the autohinter to be on, add the following to /etc/fonts/local.conf or ~/.fonts.conf

<match target="pattern">
        <edit name="autohint" mode="assign">
           <bool>true</bool>
        </edit>
     </match>