You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-27 03:12:58

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 1,017

new gimp

since updating to the newest gimp, the icon is missing in gnome... anyone else having this problem? i am on arch64...

Offline

#2 2007-10-27 08:23:03

chicha
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-04-20
Posts: 271

Re: new gimp

I have this problem too.
I do not understand why there is this problem : the .desktop file for Gimp contains an icon setting ...
If you really matter about this, open a bug on flyspray.

Offline

#3 2007-10-27 11:00:08

MrWeatherbee
Member
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 277

Re: new gimp

It was missing from the Gnome menu at first ... until I ran 'gimp' for the first time from the command line. Then the Gimp menu entry appeared (GNU Image Manipulation Program) along with the icon under the menu category, Graphics. I'm not sure why it wasn't immediately placed on the menu after installation. I even rebooted after the system upgrade that included Gimp, and the menu item / icon only appeared after the command line launch. No big deal, but just wanted to mention I had a small glitch with the Gimp and menus as well.

Edit:
I'm not even sure if you are referring to the icon being completely missing from the menus or whether an item is there but the icon appears as an X (or is blank). For me, the item and icon were completely missing until the command line launch. I'm using 32-bit Arch, by the way.

Last edited by MrWeatherbee (2007-10-27 11:08:41)

Offline

#4 2007-10-27 11:16:58

chicha
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-04-20
Posts: 271

Re: new gimp

I launched it through the command line and the "Gimp" icon still does not appear in the Gnome menu sad

Offline

#5 2007-10-27 15:33:57

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 1,017

Re: new gimp

i tried launching it through command line and it also did not fix the icon. i did get this error though....


/usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/helpbrowser: error while loading shared libraries: libgtkhtml-2.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

(gimp:8301): LibGimpBase-WARNING **: gimp: gimp_wire_read(): error

Offline

#6 2007-10-27 17:30:28

ahaslam
Member
Registered: 2007-05-11
Posts: 119

Re: new gimp

nano /usr/share/applications/gimp.desktop

Add/amend this line:

Icon=/usr/share/gimp/2.0/images/gimp-logo.png

wink

Offline

#7 2007-10-27 19:13:05

ssmithy
Member
From: St. Louis, MO
Registered: 2007-10-05
Posts: 6
Website

Re: new gimp

Thanks ahaslam!

Offline

#8 2007-10-27 21:28:11

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 1,017

Re: new gimp

Thanks!

Offline

#9 2007-10-27 23:44:46

chicha
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-04-20
Posts: 271

Re: new gimp

Thank you ahaslam, it worked smile

Offline

#10 2007-10-28 01:12:17

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: new gimp

Thank you for the icon tip. Has anybody noticed it being slower when cropping images when it's 800%? Or even moving layers when it's 800%...

I know the old Gimp was slow when doing things at 800%, but not this slow.

Last edited by methuselah (2007-10-28 01:12:34)

Offline

#11 2007-10-28 01:24:27

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: new gimp

methuselah wrote:

Has anybody noticed it being slower when cropping images when it's 800%? Or even moving layers when it's 800%...

I tried both crop and moving a 1600x1200 image at 800% and it works great. It doesn't seem slow to me at all.

Offline

#12 2007-10-28 02:02:55

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: new gimp

skottish wrote:
methuselah wrote:

Has anybody noticed it being slower when cropping images when it's 800%? Or even moving layers when it's 800%...

I tried both crop and moving a 1600x1200 image at 800% and it works great. It doesn't seem slow to me at all.

Mine crawls if I start in one corner and goto the next corner with the cropping tool. Same size image, 1600x1200 at 800%... besides that, I like the new Gimp. And I can always do my cropping and moving layers in a smaller percentage like 200%... and then change back to 800% to get the placement perfect.


EDIT: I turned Compiz Fusion off and it was much faster... but it still felt too slow compared to the way it had felt before.

Last edited by methuselah (2007-10-28 02:10:29)

Offline

#13 2007-10-28 16:41:54

ahaslam
Member
Registered: 2007-05-11
Posts: 119

Re: new gimp

No probs wink
No delays here, no composite, x86_64 on C2D hmm

Last edited by ahaslam (2007-10-28 16:43:07)

Offline

#14 2007-10-28 19:49:11

Evoreth
Member
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 15

Re: new gimp

I can't start it with Katapult anymore. It's not listed. Does anyone know why?

Offline

#15 2007-10-28 21:23:05

grizz
Member
Registered: 2007-03-14
Posts: 49
Website

Re: new gimp

Write: GNU image manipu...
not Gimp

;p


http://galeria.firlej.org 
Voiceless it cries,Wingless flutters,Toothless bites,Mouthless mutters.
http://grizz.pl

Offline

#16 2007-10-28 22:10:40

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: new gimp

grizz wrote:

Write: GNU image manipu...
not Gimp

;p

GIMP works also. The devs are currently pushing this.

Last edited by skottish (2007-10-28 22:13:13)

Offline

#17 2007-10-28 22:33:48

Phrodo_00
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2006-04-09
Posts: 342
Website

Re: new gimp

grizz wrote:

Write: GNU image manipu...
not Gimp

;p

GNU GNU GNU ... GNU is Not Unix Image Manip...?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB