You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-30 22:30:09

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

vmware problem

I get this error when I run vmware-config.pl:

/usr/bin/vmware-config.pl -prebuilt
The following VMware kernel modules have been found on your system that were 
not installed by the VMware Installer.  Please remove them then run this 
installer again.

vmnet
vmblock
vmmon

Execution aborted.

Obvoiously, I already installed those at some point in time and don't rember, I tried the prebuilt switch to see if that would allow me to use them, but no. So I can't configure my system until I remove these files and I have no clue where they reside, I do a 'locate vmnet' for example, and I get a billion different places.

Offline

#2 2007-10-30 23:44:33

veek
Member
Registered: 2006-03-10
Posts: 167

Re: vmware problem

One thing that will help narrow your search is that kernel modules have a .ko extension.

Also your kernel modules are located in /lib/modules/2.6.22-ARCH. The last bit will obviously depend on what kernel version you're running.
In my case I have two kernels installed, so I have a directory for each in /lib/modules.

The following command will find any vmnet kernel modules (vmnet.ko) installed for any kernel in your system:

find /lib/modules/ | grep vmnet

You can replace vmnet with any other modules you're searching for.

Last edited by veek (2007-10-30 23:45:43)

Offline

#3 2007-10-30 23:53:10

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: vmware problem

There is another unsolved thread on this somewhere... I had the same problem. I'm not sure why, but I think it had something to do with my using Yaourt -- when I compiled the two packages using makepkg the problem went away. Also, you need to upgrade to the any-any-14 patch. There's some useful comments in the vmwareplayre modules package:

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?d … s=0&SeB=nd

Dusty

Offline

#4 2007-10-30 23:56:40

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Re: vmware problem

veek wrote:

One thing that will help narrow your search is that kernel modules have a .ko extension.

Also your kernel modules are located in /lib/modules/2.6.22-ARCH. The last bit will obviously depend on what kernel version you're running.
In my case I have two kernels installed, so I have a directory for each in /lib/modules.

The following command will find any vmnet kernel modules (vmnet.ko) installed for any kernel in your system:

find /lib/modules/ | grep vmnet

You can replace vmnet with any other modules you're searching for.

Thanks for the tip, I didn't think about using find and grep, sometimes problems that seem to be hard are easy to solve tongue.

@Dusty, I use vmware workstation, school provided it with a license.

Last edited by twiistedkaos (2007-10-30 23:57:23)

Offline

#5 2007-10-31 00:00:48

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: vmware problem

twiistedkaos wrote:

@Dusty, I use vmware workstation, school provided it with a license.

So not installing with a PKGBUILD?

I've no idea if the any-any patch applies to workstation, but that may be the issue. It may just be kernel related too.

Dusty

Offline

#6 2007-10-31 00:02:51

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Re: vmware problem

Dusty wrote:
twiistedkaos wrote:

@Dusty, I use vmware workstation, school provided it with a license.

So not installing with a PKGBUILD?

I've no idea if the any-any patch applies to workstation, but that may be the issue. It may just be kernel related too.

Dusty

Well, I got it to sort of configure by removing the files that made vmware-config throw a fit, but now I can't start the daemon because it says it's not configured...

/etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start
VMware Workstation is installed, but it has not been (correctly) configured
for the running kernel. To (re-)configure it, invoke the
following command: /usr/bin/vmware-config.pl.

And I have ran it, multiple times.

Last edited by twiistedkaos (2007-10-31 00:49:44)

Offline

#7 2007-10-31 00:57:46

sinister99
Member
Registered: 2007-04-10
Posts: 136

Re: vmware problem

did you recently update to kernel to 2.6.23?  if you did, you need to basically reinstall vmware so your server modules are re compiled for your kernel.

Offline

#8 2007-10-31 01:05:03

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Re: vmware problem

sinister99 wrote:

did you recently update to kernel to 2.6.23?  if you did, you need to basically reinstall vmware so your server modules are re compiled for your kernel.

I built it for 2.6.23

Offline

#9 2007-10-31 01:56:49

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: vmware problem

remove /etc/vmware/not_configured to get around the daemon throwing a fit. Then run /etc/init.d/vmware start (basically the daemon just calls this) so you can see what's failing.

Dusty

Offline

#10 2007-10-31 03:35:12

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Re: vmware problem

Alright, thanks Dusty, heres what it says now:

[root@gizmo josh]# /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start
Starting VMware services:
   Virtual machine monitor                                            failed
   Blocking file system:

And those are 2 of the files the config bsed about me having.

I'll try reinstalling the modules package and see where that goes.

Reinstalled and get the same error again:

[root@gizmo vmware-workstation]# /usr/bin/vmware-config.pl
The following VMware kernel modules have been found on your system that were 
not installed by the VMware Installer.  Please remove them then run this 
installer again.

vmnet
vmblock
vmmon
Execution aborted.

I think there are switches just to ignore these packages, because they are installed with all my other modules(I made my own pkgbuild). I tried all the switches, but maybe I am just making some odd mistake with them, I'll post the switches, and how I used one to see if I am just doing it wrong.

/usr/bin/vmware-config.pl --help
VMware Workstation 6.0.2 build-59824 for Linux configurator
Usage: /usr/bin/vmware-config.pl [[-][-]d[efault]] [[-][-]c[ompile]] 
[[-][-]p[rebuilt]] [[-][-]t[ry-modules]]
. default: Automatically answer questions with the proposed answer.
. compile: Force the compilation of kernel modules.
. prebuilt: Force the use of pre-built kernel modules.
. try-modules: Try to load all the compatible modules from the VMware 
Workstation package.

Command line arguments:  The acceptable characters are:
        the letters A, B, C, ...,
        the letters a, b, c, ...,
        the numbers 0, 1, 2, ...,
        and the special characters '_' and '-' and '='.

I want to force the use of prebuilt, so I do the following:

/usr/bin/vmware-config.pl --prebuilt
The following VMware kernel modules have been found on your system that were 
not installed by the VMware Installer.  Please remove them then run this 
installer again.

vmnet
vmblock
vmmon

Execution aborted.

I've also tried just one hyphen:

/usr/bin/vmware-config.pl --prebuilt

and I get the same error, I've tried all the different switches to see if I am using the wrong one, and still... the same error.

Last edited by twiistedkaos (2007-10-31 04:03:20)

Offline

#11 2007-10-31 04:18:42

kishd
Member
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 399

Re: vmware problem

use the method described in the wiki to install vmware workstation.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#  Run sudo mkdir -p /etc/rc.d/vmware.d/rc{0,1,2,3,4,5,6}.d to create VMware runlevel directories.
# Run sudo ln -s /bin/lsmod /sbin/ to create symlink for lsmod.
# Extract VMware server tarball somewhere... i.e. /tmp/.
# Run cd /tmp/vmware-server-distrib;sudo ./vmware-install.pl. I used /home/vmware/bin for installation.
# When it asks where the directories for rc0.d thru rc6.d are, use /etc/rc.d/vmware.d.
# When it asks where the init directory is, use /etc/rc.d.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

do not apply the any-any patch and it should work fine. When using a modified PKGBUILD for workstation 6.02 I got the same error, however vmware installed and runs fine with the standard vmware install script.


---for there is nothing either good or bad, but only thinking makes it so....
Hamlet, W Shakespeare

Offline

#12 2007-10-31 05:43:33

twiistedkaos
Member
Registered: 2006-05-20
Posts: 666

Re: vmware problem

kishd wrote:

use the method described in the wiki to install vmware workstation.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#  Run sudo mkdir -p /etc/rc.d/vmware.d/rc{0,1,2,3,4,5,6}.d to create VMware runlevel directories.
# Run sudo ln -s /bin/lsmod /sbin/ to create symlink for lsmod.
# Extract VMware server tarball somewhere... i.e. /tmp/.
# Run cd /tmp/vmware-server-distrib;sudo ./vmware-install.pl. I used /home/vmware/bin for installation.
# When it asks where the directories for rc0.d thru rc6.d are, use /etc/rc.d/vmware.d.
# When it asks where the init directory is, use /etc/rc.d.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

do not apply the any-any patch and it should work fine. When using a modified PKGBUILD for workstation 6.02 I got the same error, however vmware installed and runs fine with the standard vmware install script.

Eh, I just reinstalled and deleted the not_configured file and walla, works like a charm.

Offline

#13 2007-11-05 22:53:47

mdickinson
Member
Registered: 2006-10-08
Posts: 5

Re: vmware problem

I know the OP already found a work around several days ago, but since I also had this problem I thought I'd post anyway.  For vmware-config.pl to run, edit /etc/vmware/locations and add something like

file /lib/modules/2.6.23-ARCH/misc/vmblock.ko
file /lib/modules/2.6.23-ARCH/misc/vmmon.ko
file /lib/modules/2.6.23-ARCH/misc/vmnet.ko

There's a 3rd field, a number, but I'm not entirely sure what it is supposed to be.  vmware-config.pl ran without issue for me with the lines as shown (of course, the kernel version part might be different for you).

Offline

#14 2007-11-10 14:09:59

bored2k
Member
Registered: 2006-01-14
Posts: 39

Re: vmware problem

mdickinson wrote:

I know the OP already found a work around several days ago, but since I also had this problem I thought I'd post anyway.  For vmware-config.pl to run, edit /etc/vmware/locations and add something like

file /lib/modules/2.6.23-ARCH/misc/vmblock.ko
file /lib/modules/2.6.23-ARCH/misc/vmmon.ko
file /lib/modules/2.6.23-ARCH/misc/vmnet.ko

There's a 3rd field, a number, but I'm not entirely sure what it is supposed to be.  vmware-config.pl ran without issue for me with the lines as shown (of course, the kernel version part might be different for you).

That worked. Thanks a mill!

Offline

#15 2007-12-02 21:25:42

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

Re: vmware problem

sorry to bring this thread up.
it was running all fine till the latest kernel upgrade.
I rebuilt vmware, did all the steps above, but now it starts and few seconds later vmware-vmx sucks up 100% CpU
and it hangs. It can't be killed or anything.
I have to reboot.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB