You are not logged in.

#1 2004-04-13 21:38:41

naperdave
Member
Registered: 2004-04-06
Posts: 11

Try GDM for login mgr?

In checking forum I'm assuming most logical thing using XFCE is to DL GDM to get GUI login . I think I see the big picture yet keeping it simple (STUPID). Is this all I need to DL before I work on inittab? Arch/XFCE looking brighter everyday-wish I was too.

GottaGo and thanks in advance,

Dave

Offline

#2 2004-04-13 22:25:55

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Try GDM for login mgr?

DL=download?

you can use xdm, gdm, kdm or wdm for your gui-login

xdm is the oldest but very customizable and a big learning experience ... only for people with time

gdm needs some gnome stuff, but is really easy to setup

kdm needs a lot of kde to run, but very similar to gdm

wdm i dont know

to install gdm or xdm or wdm, just run

pacman -S gdm

(kdm is in kdebase, not advisable, if you do not want to run kde or have 50MB to spare on your hdd)

then you simply should add to DAEMONS() in /etc/rc.conf the gui-login you installed with pacman


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-04-15 11:15:56

naperdave
Member
Registered: 2004-04-06
Posts: 11

Re: Try GDM for login mgr?

*** Trying to get login mgr, tried info found on forum but must be missing something.


I have id:5:initdefault
and    x:5:respawn:/usr/X11R6/bin/xdm -nodaemon

I have two .xinitrc files:
    /etc/skel, and bigd51. They are both set as "exec startxfce4".
   


If I type XDM at prompt I get xdm login mgr,then a window other than xfce4.

I also get init:"cannot execute/usrX11R6/bin/xfce4"
           init:id x respawning too fast:disabled for 5 minutes.


How can I get login mgr with XDM or GDM?

Regarding GDM-  I cp'd packages from cdrom to /pkgs and can pacman -S some packages
but I have no gnome, gdm per slocate. I have gnome-common but will not install, says not in db.
Did --refresh and -Sy to no avail. Remmed out all servers, can install xscreensaver but not gnome-common,
so my pacman.conf should be ok.

Have nothing in /opt but Mozzila-firefox & xfce.



I don't know what I'm missing, please help,
           
      
      
NaperDave

Offline

#4 2004-04-15 14:55:11

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Try GDM for login mgr?

can you explain what you changed?

actually it is not that complicated to have a gui-login:

- make sure gdm is installed (pacman -S gdm ... if your internet connection is fast enough)
- add gdm to DAEMONS in /etc/rc.conf ... in the end of the list

(analogue for xdm)

... you do not need to manipulate the runlevels (it's an alternative, but sometimes a little bit tricky)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#5 2004-04-16 01:25:26

naperdave
Member
Registered: 2004-04-06
Posts: 11

Re: Try GDM for login mgr?

My last message body should cover most of my problem, I think.

I don't have a fast connection and the only Gnome packages off of cdrom is gnome-common and will not install unlike other packages that I have installed. Above message explains what I did a little more in detail. The big pictire looked straight forward but something is missing-anybody know?


Thanks

Dave

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB