You are not logged in.

#1 2007-11-23 20:46:41

mid_night gypsy
Member
From: Scott City,MO.
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 4

konsole shell color question?

Hello, All
First, I am new here with Arch, actually I have only installed it twice two different computer. My problem,question persists on both of them.  I have look though the forum
till my eyes bug out, I just haven't seen the neon sign that has my answer on it, so I thought I would ask. By the way, I 'm very impress with the way Arch runs.. hats off to devs.
My question, When I click on the icon (or menu) for Konsole  it launches and works as it should but, the colors are always reset to shell's colors  witch is white background with green text. It acts like another program or file is controlling the color part, cause if I change to a linux console new session the colors I want for konsole are remembered.  Thanks for being so patient with us arch newbies, gypsy


Hi, my name is .......... and ..I have Tim Allen syndrome "MORE POWER"

Offline

#2 2007-11-23 21:25:53

Ashren
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 1,221
Website

Re: konsole shell color question?

I found this bug report: http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=135428

Do you have a konsolerc stored in the right folder? It's just a suggestion, since I don't use kde myself.

Offline

#3 2007-11-24 20:21:26

mid_night gypsy
Member
From: Scott City,MO.
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 4

Re: konsole shell color question?

 locate konsolerc
/home/*******/.kde/share/config/konsolerc
/opt/kde/share/config/kdemod/konsolerc
/root/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/konsolerc.desktop
/root/.kde/share/config/konsolerc

I don't know? Where do I need to put it, or where's should it be ? I also notice kdmtheme(manager) doesn't work right either, maybe that's a clue. Thanks,gypsy


Hi, my name is .......... and ..I have Tim Allen syndrome "MORE POWER"

Offline

#4 2007-11-24 23:11:54

hacosta
Member
From: Mexico
Registered: 2006-10-22
Posts: 422

Re: konsole shell color question?

it is fine there,are you sure you are clicking save as default settings after saving your changes?

Offline

#5 2007-11-24 23:36:23

mid_night gypsy
Member
From: Scott City,MO.
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 4

Re: konsole shell color question?

hacosta: wrote
it is fine there,are you sure you are clicking save as default settings after saving your changes?

Thank you, for the reply  I was lost in space, tryin' to figure out moto4lin for my phone (no luck). Sorry  I didn't reply sooner...To answer your question, yes I am.


Hi, my name is .......... and ..I have Tim Allen syndrome "MORE POWER"

Offline

#6 2007-11-25 01:13:56

TheSaint
Member
From: my computer
Registered: 2007-08-19
Posts: 1,369

Re: konsole shell color question?

For me it's fine if I launch the konsole for the user, it's not when I open the root konsole.
To circumvent such misbehavior I call kdesu to launch the konsole.
F


do it good first, it will be faster than do it twice the saint wink

Offline

#7 2007-11-25 11:18:36

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519
Website

Re: konsole shell color question?

I'm having the konsole-color problem too. It seems not all settings are working.

Offline

#8 2007-11-26 20:55:23

mid_night gypsy
Member
From: Scott City,MO.
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 4

Re: konsole shell color question?

I'm sorry for bumping this thread, But I just notice I don't have ~/.Xdefaults in my /home directory .....Any suggestions. Thanks gypsy


Hi, my name is .......... and ..I have Tim Allen syndrome "MORE POWER"

Offline

#9 2007-11-27 10:07:33

kakTuZ
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2007-10-20
Posts: 86

Re: konsole shell color question?

mid_night gypsy: thats normal. I haven't had one, too, until i needed it for some configuration. Just create one, when you need to put options into it.

Last edited by kakTuZ (2007-11-27 10:07:45)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB