You are not logged in.

#1 2007-11-26 12:57:30

fallening
Member
From: PRC
Registered: 2007-11-26
Posts: 25

How could I change my mac address during installation?

For some reasons I have to change my address to touch internet, but I don't know how to do it right after installation.

I tried in  file rc.conf

eth0='............. hw ether xxxxxxxxxxxx'

but failed


載瞻星辰
載歌幽人
流水今日
明月前身

Offline

#2 2007-11-26 13:12:25

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

i have tried also to do that and i succeded.
rc.conf:

eth1="eth1 hw ether 00:00:00:00:00:FF 192.168.1.1"
INTERFACES=(lo eth1)

ifconfig -a

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:FF  
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

note:
i use a random mac adress. it was only for testing smile


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2007-11-26 13:36:09

fallening
Member
From: PRC
Registered: 2007-11-26
Posts: 25

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

Thank you Wonder:)

I tried again and succeed.


載瞻星辰
載歌幽人
流水今日
明月前身

Offline

#4 2008-04-09 12:14:33

unregistered
Member
Registered: 2008-04-09
Posts: 134

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

what if im using dhcp then do i have to do this:
eth1="eth1 hw ether 00:00:00:00:00:FF dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth1)
or do i do something else?

Offline

#5 2008-04-09 14:15:56

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

For dhcp, you need to do something a little more custom-made - the syntax above won't work. You could put all the required commands in /etc/rc.local, or you could use netcfg with the mac-changing command as a PRE_UP.

netcfg details here.

Offline

#6 2008-04-11 14:10:41

unregistered
Member
Registered: 2008-04-09
Posts: 134

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

could you elaborate on the PRE_UP, the wiki didn't say much about it, where do i put it(in the netcfg network profile?) and how does it work?

and in the wiki for
NETWORKS=("auto-wireless <interface>" ipw0 ethernet)
what the "auto-wireless <interface>" does is that it scans for available networks in the current vicinity am i correct? does this scan for all networks or only certain networks specified the the profile files?

and for In rc.conf set NETWORKS=() to menu. to get a menu at boot do i do something like this:
NETWORKS=(menu profile1 profile2)?

Last edited by unregistered (2008-04-11 15:12:05)

Offline

#7 2008-04-13 12:39:55

unregistered
Member
Registered: 2008-04-09
Posts: 134

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

help help

Offline

#8 2008-04-13 14:16:16

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: How could I change my mac address during installation?

Have a look in /etc/network.d/examples - PRE_UP is explained in one of them.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB