You are not logged in.

#1 2007-12-10 12:01:51

tositstill

Laptop Suddenly Restarts

Hello everyone.

I am a linux newbie. I have had some short experience with Debian and decided that Id learn more from Arch...

I just got a new laptop, a Acer Aspire 7720.

[Here are some other topics about this particular laptop:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=38892
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=40818

And a french site about how to configure Ubuntu on it:
http://www.devlog.be/index.php/devlog/2 … r_acer_asp
]

Along with other problems of configuration (that I am still trying to understand and will try to contribute to the community once I get whats going on) my computer has the following issue: it suddenly restarts with no apparent pattern. I tried to test if it has something to do with reading a CD/DVD-rom or opening any particular problem but couldnt understand what goes on. It gets, sometimes, really really hot...(a friend of mine once said he couldnt even touch it).

Since I am a newbie..I am not sure of which information you will need to help me through this...Are there any system logs that might show me something? Ahn...

I tried to understand some of the power management stuff...Im still going to read more about it...but I feel like I should ask in the forum to get a better idea of what exactly is going on....

I thank in advance for any help I can get...and I am sorry if my english is not very clear...=]

Ahn..I guess thats it.

Last edited by tositstill (2007-12-10 12:05:24)

#2 2007-12-10 13:23:48

Allan
Pacman
Website

Re: Laptop Suddenly Restarts

Sounds like the computer is overheating then shutting down. Does you fan come on at all?

#3 2007-12-10 19:54:26

tositstill

hmm...
it's weird..the fan comes out at times...but right now, for example, the computer was really really hot and still it didnt turn off.

sometimes I use it for a very long time before it restarts and, when it does, it isnt even that hot...