You are not logged in.

#426 2009-10-31 00:10:42

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Congratulations to Bunny, Arch's ninth Millionaire!

Cheers!

Pudge

Offline

#427 2009-10-31 00:19:29

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 229

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Well done Bunny, nice million!

Diesel1.


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#428 2009-11-07 02:33:31

llcawthorne
Member
From: Columbia, SC
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 142

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Woot!  Installed folding this morning.  Got some sleep.  Watched a movie (V for Vendetta; Netflix got it here a day late).  And now I am in 276th place!  Off to a good start.  My PS3 wasn't even churning while I watched the movie.

Maybe I can talk my father-in-law into joining our team.  He doesn't know what a Linux is, but I bought him his PS3 for Christmas, so he kinda owes me.  wink

Maybe I'll look later into rolling back my NVIDIA drivers so the GPU Client might possibly work.  I have two 8800GT's and an 8600GS that don't do much other than allow me to watch the occasional movie.  The GPU client crashes with a quickness with 190 nvidia drivers, and I understood it had problems with 185, but I imagine I could find a 180 copy somewhere and give it a try.  I figure that I might as well make sure my overclocked rig doesn't blow up just using my quad core though first.  It's spent many a day crunching Pi at 3.8 Ghz and survived the summer though, so it should be straight.

Cheers to helping a good cause! 

Lewis


To understand recursion, you must understand recursion.

Offline

#429 2009-11-07 22:14:32

whaevr
Member
Registered: 2008-03-17
Posts: 182

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

llcawthorne wrote:

The GPU client crashes with a quickness with 190 nvidia drivers, and I understood it had problems with 185, but I imagine I could find a 180 copy somewhere and give it a try.

Yea hopefully the 195 drivers Nvidia is preparing with Cuda 3.0 will work...I'm interested to see if these newer driver will speed up folding or anything.

Offline

#430 2009-11-18 02:32:36

llcawthorne
Member
From: Columbia, SC
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 142

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Yay!  I wouldn't normally toot my own horn about my meteoric rise towards the top, but I did just notice I was number 69.  "69 Dude!  69!"

69       llcawthorne        74317        85

To understand recursion, you must understand recursion.

Offline

#431 2009-11-24 02:14:53

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

The Arch Linux F@H team had two milestones reached today.

bruce became the Arch Linux Folding team's 10th Millionaire.  Congrats bruce.  That's a great milestone for you personally and ten millionaires is a great milestone for the Arch Team.

quad3datwork just passed 7 Million points.  Congrats to quad3datwork.

The Arch team as a whole is doing well.  The Arch Folding@Home team just passed 50 Million recently.  The number of active folders is up, and the team's PPD and Work Units completed is up.

Thanks to all who participate or have participated on the Arch Team.

Pudge

Offline

#432 2009-12-04 07:29:26

grim147
Member
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 4

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Can anyone join and also does it use a constant stream of bandwidth ??

Offline

#433 2009-12-04 09:45:38

bruce
Member
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 57

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

yeah anyone can join (just check the wiki for instructions if you need), and would be happily welcomed i'm sure smile and it doesn't seem to use much bandwidth from what I can tell smile Only needs to use the net to get a job, and then to send the results, which only happens every few (at best) hours...

Offline

#434 2010-01-14 07:55:28

hatten
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Sweden, Borlange
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 736

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

There seems to be something wrong somewhere, my points ain't registered at the tracking websites.

cat /etc/conf.d/foldingathome 
#
# Optional user settings for foldingathome daemon
#
# If you prefer not to run fah as root then you can identifer a current or
# specially created user here.

FAH_USER="fah"

# If you wish to associate this user with a specific group you can enter the
# group name here.  If left blank the default is "users".

FAH_GRP=""
ls -l /opt/fah/
total 256
drwxr-xr-x 3 fah    users   4096 Jan  8 10:48 fah
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root   root  252676 Jan  6 17:36 fah6
drwxr-xr-x 3 hatten 45032   4096 Jan 14 08:56 hatten
sudo cat /opt/fah/fah/client.cfg 
Password: 
[settings]
username=hatten
team=52034
passkey=********************************
asknet=no
machineid=1
bigpackets=big
local=18

[http]
active=no
host=localhost
port=8080
cat /opt/fah/fah/unitinfo.txt 
Current Work Unit
-----------------
Name: Great Red Oystrich Makes All Chemists Sane in water
Tag: -
Download time: January 14 02:29:26
Due time: March 7 02:29:26
Progress: 14%  [|_________]

All the logs at my computer says that I'm up and running, kakaostats and extremeoverclocking mark me as inactive. What's wrong?

Last edited by hatten (2010-01-14 08:10:17)

Offline

#435 2010-01-14 17:36:22

quad3d@work
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 81
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Perhaps following should be set to "45032"?

FAH_GRP=""

to

FAH_GRP="45032"

I don't have an Arch running so I am not sure what the exact setting is. Someone else can chime in....

Offline

#436 2010-01-14 19:11:52

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

hatten wrote:

There seems to be something wrong somewhere, my points ain't registered at the tracking websites.

sudo cat /opt/fah/fah/client.cfg 
Password: 
[settings]
username=hatten
team=52034
passkey=********************************
asknet=no
machineid=1
bigpackets=big
local=18

[http]
active=no
host=localhost
port=8080

All the logs at my computer says that I'm up and running, kakaostats and extremeoverclocking mark me as inactive. What's wrong?

Hatten;

You have team=52034 and as quad3d@work says, it should be 45032.

Team 52034 is team "ProtienBuilders"  and your stats are showing up here.

Stop your client, then restart it with the -configonly flag and change the team number.

Pudge

Offline

#437 2010-01-14 19:41:17

hatten
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Sweden, Borlange
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 736

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

hahaha, I'll change that immediately xD

That must have been going since I reinstalled Arch, a loooong time ago big_smile

Offline

#438 2010-01-14 19:46:24

hatten
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Sweden, Borlange
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 736

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

[$]> sudo /etc/rc.d/foldingathome -configonly start
Usage: /etc/rc.d/foldingathome {start|stop|restart}

How do i add flags to starting/stopping daemons if it's not like that?

Offline

#439 2010-01-23 16:40:38

Krause
Member
Registered: 2010-01-20
Posts: 81

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Sounds like a good idea, I'm in on this.

I just followed the instructions on the f@h site, it seems to be working.

Offline

#440 2010-01-24 14:52:51

hatten
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Sweden, Borlange
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 736

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

hatten wrote:
[$]> sudo /etc/rc.d/foldingathome -configonly start
Usage: /etc/rc.d/foldingathome {start|stop|restart}

How do i add flags to starting/stopping daemons if it's not like that?

Got it working with doing it your way. I'm now happily folding along again.

Offline

#441 2010-01-26 21:48:16

Runiq
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 1,053

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Damn, why didn't I contribute to this earlier. G

I have a dual core SMP-capable processor, but f@h starts four instances. Is it supposed to be like that?

Offline

#442 2010-01-27 02:39:12

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Runiq wrote:

Damn, why didn't I contribute to this earlier. G

I have a dual core SMP-capable processor, but f@h starts four instances. Is it supposed to be like that?

Not to worry, 4 instances is normal.

Pudge

Offline

#443 2010-01-28 12:06:16

llcawthorne
Member
From: Columbia, SC
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 142

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Yay!  In celebration of my becoming last of the top 25, I will ask a question.

Background Info:  My performance has been off for a month or so, because I had to take down my computer for repairs.  CPU fan needed replacing.  It is why I previously had some heat issues.  The PS3 churned out packets while the PC was away, hence my temoprary dip in numbers.  My computer is back up and looking good, but I am occassionally encountering a new error that I have never seen before.

Mind you, this is not all the time.  Just every few days:

Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Out of memory: kill process 1262 (mpiexec) score 1115768 or a child
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Killed process 1263 (FahCore_a2.exe)
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Out of memory: kill process 1262 (mpiexec) score 563403 or a child
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Killed process 1264 (FahCore_a2.exe)
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Out of memory: kill process 20820 (run-mozilla.sh) score 562096 or a child
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Killed process 20824 (thunderbird-bin)
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Out of memory: kill process 1262 (mpiexec) score 560676 or a child
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Killed process 1265 (FahCore_a2.exe)
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Out of memory: kill process 1262 (mpiexec) score 556130 or a child
Jan 28 00:17:36 darktower kernel: Killed process 1266 (FahCore_a2.exe)

I glanced back a few days through the logs.  Sometimes it kills more, sometimes less.  It always kills a number of folding processes, and tends to kill thunderbird all the time.  The last thing to need killing always seems to be a Fah process.

I've only caught my memory usage redline one time while I was at the computer (and it was fixed by stoping Fah manually, since I saw what was eating the memory in top).  Normally (like now for example), my memory usage is under 10%.  Also, I have 12GB of RAM.

I do not see anything strange at the corresponding times in myfah.log.  I don't see anything too strange there at all, aside from some warnings that make me question if it is having trouble sending completed units reliables (although it appears that they always sooner or later are processed, and my numbers are going up).

Any advice would be appreciated,

Thanks,

Lewis

p.s.  I tried fah-gpu again after I got my comp thrown back together.  Is it still just broke with a newer video drivers?  When I try it with 190 or 195-beta, I get unstable machine.  It seems if I want to roll back and try it with 180, my system wants me to downgrade my kernel and binutils and all sorts of craziness.


To understand recursion, you must understand recursion.

Offline

#444 2010-01-31 18:30:00

llcawthorne
Member
From: Columbia, SC
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 142

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Odd.  This hasn't happened again since Jan 28th.  I downloaded a new kernel around the same day the problem went away I think.  Maybe related?

Either way, my numbers are looking reasonable, and I am not seeing errors.

Lewis Cawthorne


To understand recursion, you must understand recursion.

Offline

#445 2010-01-31 18:57:07

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

It probably wasn't related to the kernel.  That does happen occasionally.  Things will be running fine, then Stanford will introduce a new work unit.  Often, they have to play around for a while and get the parameters set just right.  I'm currently having problems with Project 2665 on the SMP client.  Given time, the problems will go away.

Pudge

Offline

#446 2010-02-01 23:25:12

diesel1
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Leeds, UK.
Registered: 2007-07-19
Posts: 229

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi all,

Is the GPU client working on x86_64 with current kernel etc?

All the best,

Diesel1.


Registered GNU/Linux user #140607.

Offline

#447 2010-02-02 14:10:49

whaevr
Member
Registered: 2008-03-17
Posts: 182

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

llcawthorne wrote:

Odd.  This hasn't happened again since Jan 28th.  I downloaded a new kernel around the same day the problem went away I think.  Maybe related?

Either way, my numbers are looking reasonable, and I am not seeing errors.

Lewis Cawthorne

Are you talking about your problems with the gpu client are fixed as well? *hopeful*

...I've got a laptop now so my desktop with the nvidia card was converted over to windows 7..so other people of the house could actually use it. lol

Although I'll install arch alongside it to see if it works...not expecting a miracle though.

Offline

#448 2010-02-16 02:49:45

bluepumpkin
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 58

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Joined the team about 3.5 hours ago, and just hit 10% on my first work unit! big_smile

Hopefully it doesn't kill my laptop... Temp seems fairly stable at 64C.

Offline

#449 2010-02-16 12:20:57

djungelmums
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-09-09
Posts: 36

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

./fah6 -smp -configonly

Note: Please read the license agreement (fah6 -license). Further 
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

Folding@Home User Configuration

This client only supports 64-bit linux machines.  Your machine was detected as ''.

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.

I have a 32bit proc. (C2D 1.86GHz) and run arch 32bit x86.

Package installed: foldingathome from AUR

Solution?

Offline

#450 2010-02-16 21:27:11

jac
Member
From: /home/jac
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 431
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Are you sure that's what you installed? There are both foldingathome and foldingathome-smp. Either way, I think -smp is only for 64bit, try removing that. Welcome to the team!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB