You are not logged in.

#126 2008-02-18 02:23:11

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

This sounds VERY interesting........... I will be taking notes smile

Offline

#127 2008-02-23 03:16:26

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I'm getting closer to that 100k mark smile

Offline

#128 2008-02-23 14:32:58

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Pudge wrote:

Right now I am trialling this on a spare i686 machine.  If everything proves to be stable and reliable, I will try it on one of my 64 bit dual core machines with the smp client.

Last night I moved the USB Flash memory stick from my i686 machine to one of the 64 bit computers.  I installed Arch 64 base, ssh, sshfs, and the 32 bit libraries and started running folding @ home.  I also modified dmartins hangcheck script to include the mounting of the server's hard drive directory so it writes all the folding@home files to the external hard drive instead of the USB stick.  It has run overnight OK.  Time will tell but I am not expecting any problems.

I did a df -h on the 4 GB stick, and it looks like a 2 GB memory stick would do the job.  A Corsair Voyage 2 GB stick is only $15 at Newegg

Filesystem        Size        Used       Avail       Use%         Mounted on

/dev/sda3        3.5G        514M         2.8G        17%         /
none             439M           0        439M         0%         /dev/shm
/dev/sda1         48M         16M         30M         34%        /boot

When I installed Arch 64 base, I eliminated some of the packages such as:
dmraid    libcrypt     licenses     lilo    lvm2     mailx    man    man-pages     nano    mdadm     pcmciautils      perl     reiserfsprogs    xfsprogs

That's probably not a complete list, and I am sure there are more packages I could have deleted, but if I wasn't sure I didn't delete it from the install.

I also eliminated some of the 32 bit libraries.  It would be interesting to see just how many packages and 32 bit libraries could be eliminated and still be able to run the F@H client.  Right now I'm at 514 MB in the root directory.  How low can we go?

Pudge

EDIT:  Also, notice the little red logo in the lower right of my avatar.  Here is a larger image.  F@H.png
That is a logo that someone come up with for the Sudhian folding team, the team I used to fold for.  The horizontal yellow and gray helix is an image that Stanford uses for folding.  The vertical red image (what ever the heck that is)  is Sudhian's logo.  So someone combined the two and came up with the Sudhian folding logo and at the time most of the folders included it on their avatars.  Any of you artists out there got any ideas for an Arch Linux folding logo?  It needs to have a transparent background.  Would we need permission from the devs, Judd, or Aaron for this?  I'm getting tired of the Sudhian logo on my avatar, time for a change.

Last edited by Pudge (2008-02-23 15:00:13)

Offline

#129 2008-03-01 14:14:55

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

That's 1,055,996 Points for February !
Way to go , team !


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#130 2008-03-02 16:21:19

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

When we lost Finkregh's two Xenon servers with 16 cores at his Computer center in late January, I didn't think we would make 1 million points for February.  That was a big hit to production, but some big contributions from several team members made up the difference.

On another subject, I added a little to dmartin's script that checks for hangs with the SMP clients.  As my dedicated folding computers run months at a time without a reboot, it now records an entry whenever a work unit gets to 99% so you know how many work units have been completed.

As noted above, I am now running one of my dual core computers from a USB stick with no hard drive.  This computer has finished 5 work units since I started booting from the USB stick, and an interesting pattern has started to evolve.  None of the five work units have hung when the WU finished.  Here is the output from hangcheck.log:

Feb 22,2008 15:31:55  F@H is not running.. Starting it now.
Feb 24,2008 02:03:05  Work Unit at 99 percent
Feb 25,2008 17:58:28  Work Unit at 99 percent
Feb 27,2008 09:51:50  Work Unit at 99 percent
Feb 29,2008 01:46:12  Work Unit at 99 percent
Mar 01,2008 17:47:34  Work Unit at 99 percent

Since this boots from a USB stick and is a dedicated folding computer, it only has an Arch base install and runs from a Console window.  No X windowing system, and no desktop environment are being used.  Just good old CLI only Linux.  Which begs the question, is the hanging problem with SMP clients at the end of a WU a problem with X windows or a desktop environment?  It will be interesting to see if this setup continues to eliminate the hang problem.

Pudge

Offline

#131 2008-03-03 08:49:19

DeltaXFX
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2006-08-01
Posts: 74

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hmm, that is interesting Pudge.
I have two machines running the SMP client, both with just Arch Base installed. A Core 2 Quad, and an AMD Turion x2. Neither of them have ever hung since I started using the SMP client. They have only been up for a week or so though, but a few WU's have been turned in from each.


The Internet...? Is that thing still around?

Offline

#132 2008-03-03 14:20:04

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I have 12 AMD dual core "Blades" folding full time. 9 are Debian etch CLI , one Debian KDE , and two versions of Kubuntu ( KDE ubuntu )
All of them have been rebooted headless , i.e. have never been "logged into" , so they all sit at the login screen ( I assume ) but the GUI never launches. I hardly ever have a client "Hang". Maybe once a month one will hang. I then "Kill -9 " the Fah Cores and restart.
I log into all these using ssh & scp.

Last edited by Pick2 (2008-03-03 14:21:06)


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#133 2008-03-07 15:14:35

kingjorge
Member
Registered: 2008-03-05
Posts: 16

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I guess this is as good as place as any to make my introduction.

Been lurking for a while, finally decided to make myself known.

More importantly, finally got my first couple of WUs done and made it onto the list officially.  Movin up the list quite nicely for only having one machine to run this on.  Currently at 358.

Offline

#134 2008-03-08 00:59:11

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

kingjorge; welcome to the Arch Linux Forums.  Glad to have you aboard, and every machine helps.

Pudge

Offline

#135 2008-03-11 12:57:03

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Welcome kingjorge !
Fold long and Prosper !

We were falling slightly below the 33,333 Points Per Day needed to hit 1 million this month ...
I guess I'll have to kick it up a notch   big_smile

Last edited by Pick2 (2008-03-11 13:05:33)


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#136 2008-03-13 16:03:44

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hey I installed f@h smp on my Arch64, but when running it, it's stuck at "Entering M.D.". Has anyone else encountered this?
I searched the official forum and there it was mentioned as being a windows error oO
I set it up to run as user.

Edit: Okay, FYI removing -smp helped after deleting work/* and queueinfo.dat. -smp seems not to work on my core2duo althoug it should according to other users.

Last edited by buddabrod (2008-03-13 16:35:34)

Offline

#137 2008-03-13 21:07:49

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Welcome buddabrod !
I think you'll need the 32 bit libs to run the SMP client , check the first page of this very thread

lib32-glibc is required to install and run the client


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#138 2008-03-14 01:54:38

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Yeah, it should work on that CPU with the -smp option.  Run ps au and see what's missing.  Here is a snippet from my ps au

# ps au
USER       PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
don       3303  0.0  0.0  35012  1008 pts/1    Sl+  Mar12   0:05 ./fah6 -smp
don       6961  0.0  0.0   8180   660 pts/1    S+   00:38   0:00 ./mpiexec -np 4
don       6962 55.7  3.4 105824 67496 pts/1    SNl+ 00:38 638:55 ./FahCore_a1.ex
don       6963 59.4  2.9  94368 56792 pts/1    SNl+ 00:38 681:14 ./FahCore_a1.ex
don       6964 41.9  2.6  88532 50672 pts/1    SNl+ 00:38 481:16 ./FahCore_a1.ex
don       6965 25.6  2.5  87832 50036 pts/1    SNl+ 00:38 294:25 ./FahCore_a1.ex

The columns aren't lined up exactly right.

fah6 -smp    starts up the client,  The client then starts
mpiexec     which starts up four instances of the core
FahCore_a1.exe  X 4

Make sure when you un-tarred the package that you included a copy of mpiexec in the same folder as fah6.

Let us know what is missing on you ps au

Pudge

Offline

#139 2008-03-14 09:16:16

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I installed the package from AUR and have all dependencies installed. I have it running with one thread only now since i have to delete all workpackages in order to switch to smp. so i let it first calculate this one ;P

iirc there were only three instances of FahCore_a1.exe.

Edit: I checked all symlinks etc. mpiexec and all that stuff was where it should be.

Last edited by buddabrod (2008-03-14 09:16:54)

Offline

#140 2008-03-15 02:22:26

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Installing the package from AUR is the complex way of doing it.   When your current work unit is done, try the simplest way to install the SMP client.  If that works, then you know your machine is capable of running in the smp mode and you can start troubleshooting the AUR package.

Try this and see if it works.  Make a directory off of your home directory such as ~/folding.  Download the 64 bit smp console client into the ~/folding directory.  Unpack the file using:

$ tar xvfz FAH6.00beta2-Linux.tgz

This will put fah6 and mpiexec in the folding directory.  Start the client with:

$ ./fah6 -smp -configonly

and configure it like crouse's quote from one of my posts in post 1 of this thread.   Then restart the client with:

$ ./fah6 -smp

and your ps au should look like my post above.

Pudge

Offline

#141 2008-03-15 23:00:20

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I'm just wondering how long it will take Crouse to notice lol
Bets anyone ? tongue
( his production is a bit low as of late , I thought I'd help out )


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#142 2008-03-16 20:40:51

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I lost about 7 machines .....   sad
My place of employment shut down and with it went about 7 machines.  sad  None were super fast, but every bit helped. Doesn't help I haven't had much spare time to keep on top of the clients on my other machines, I've been spending more time looking for employment wink  Going to check them now though big_smile

Offline

#143 2008-03-18 08:33:50

buddabrod
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-25
Posts: 220

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Pudge wrote:

[...]

Thank you, but this is what the thing from aur does, too. But FYI i tried the "manual" way, too and it stops with th same message.

Now i'm back to non-smp wink

Offline

#144 2008-03-18 23:03:23

DeltaXFX
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2006-08-01
Posts: 74

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

buddabrod,

Make sure you have your hostname for loopback set correctly in your /etc/hosts file. You should have an entry that is the same as in your /etc/rc.conf file.
i.e.
In /etc/rc.conf I have:
HOSTNAME="fileserver"

and in /etc/hosts I have:
127.0.0.1    localhost.localdomain    localhost  fileserver fileserver.home


The Internet...? Is that thing still around?

Offline

#145 2008-03-20 13:55:00

tsweetser
Member
Registered: 2008-02-11
Posts: 10

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Looks like I just popped up at the bottom of the team stats page, so I thought I'd say howdy. I just started yesterday and am looking forward to many hours of productive folding. Hopefully my little Centrino Duo will help out the cause, if only in some small way, hehe.

Offline

#146 2008-03-21 00:42:03

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Welcome to the fold tsweetser.  Every machine helps.

Pudge

Offline

#147 2008-03-22 12:34:46

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I've gotten most of the dust knocked out of my farm , it's almost back up to full speed !
The official "Spring Dust Bunny Hunt"  !
I have a new fan , showed up UPS yesterday ... But ... need some longer metric screws to put it on.


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#148 2008-03-26 18:27:51

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Congratulations everybody.  The Arch Linux folding team is now in the top 200 teams.  Quite frankly, when I started folding for Arch Linux, I never expected this team to hit the top 200.  The Arch Linux community never fails to amaze me.  Like when funds were needed for a new Arch server a while ago.  All Judd and the devs needed to do was inform the community of what was needed, and almost immediately the community responded with many many generous donations and the need was filled.

I'm proud to be part of the Arch community.

Pudge

Offline

#149 2008-04-03 17:17:41

joe
Member
From: Folsom, CA
Registered: 2004-07-27
Posts: 51
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I decided to put some machines to work. Obviously, the username "joe" was taken, so I'm there under "joeolivas".

When I have some time, I'll try the live USB method, so I can run it on a few more machines.

-Joe

Offline

#150 2008-04-05 01:48:26

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Welcome to the fold Joe.  Man, you sure jumped in with both feet.  I see you are already the #4 producer.

Pudge

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB