You are not logged in.

#1 2007-12-26 05:39:36

Rad

Moving from Gentoo to Arch without format?

Hi, I'm new to arch but I've been an old school linux user for a while now. Mostly Gentoo, but some Debian here and there. I'd really like to give Arch a try, but I have many applications already installed in Gentoo, that would be a pain under any distro to "rebuild" for example, I have a working X + Compiz-Fusion setup, and I'm not sure where all the config files are stored, (My guess is most of them are at $HOME, but I can't be sure.) Anyway, to the main point, would there be any way (hd space not an issue) to install arch over gentoo, or just copy /usr/bin/ and /usr/lib(64)/ and just remove/edit key files? (Ive heard there is only /etc/rc.conf in Arch.) If anyone has ever made this leap, let me know how it was made, and what errors you ran into.

Thanks,
               Rad

#2 2007-12-26 07:14:40

kumico
Website

Re: Moving from Gentoo to Arch without format?

rename all the main directories
etc, usr, dev, bin, lib etc
then mount the partition to /mnt in the install disk

#3 2007-12-26 07:32:04

iphitus
Forum Fellow

Welcome to Arch!

It wouldnt work -- it's a much much more complicated matter than that. Don't waste time even trying. Each distro configures things differently, so all the libraries wouldn' work, and pacman's database wouldn't know of the files. Put simply, it'd be a disaster.

It'd be _far_ simpler to install Arch on a clean partition.

#4 2007-12-26 08:46:31

TheSaint

I've moved from Mandrake to Arch, only changed the UID on the user HOME. Obviously home is a different partition.

do it good first, it will be faster than do it twice the saint wink

#5 2007-12-26 11:34:57

tomk
Forum Fellow