You are not logged in.

#1 2007-12-27 14:00:30

diogo.urb

[HELP] Pacman Repos not fuctional

Hi,
I'm new to arch linux but not to linux,
I've found interesting to give arch a try, people sad it was really fast
Then i've got the voodoo version, it's been a long
I've installed it but I couldn't be able to configure it I actually didn't know how
So I gave up

Now i've gave it a shot again, but since i'd the voodoo cd I thought i could install voodoo and just upgrade it
Right know today i've installed it and as people recommended i've just installed the base system
after installing i set the network and it worked just fine ( this time i learned how to). The i've tried to upgrade the system first to get the base system of Don't Panic, so I've set the /etc/pacman.conf just to enable the community repo and than i've tried pacman -Sy and pacman -Syu... it worked ok to get the database but then it asked if i wanted to upgrade pacman first, of course i said yes, but it said thad libarchive and another file were needed and were not in the sync db

So i've tried changing in /etc/pacman.conf the current to core
same error...

I've tried also to just do pacman -Suyf and nothing and then pacman -Suyd and it just started to try to upgrade the pacman but it couldn't get the file from de repositories (any repository i used did the same error). I wanted to know what the hell was going on so i went to the repository and i found the wrong part that were almost making me get rid of arch.

In the current repo the files have -686.pkg.tar.gz in the end but the current.db.tar.gz had no -i686 on the files and when i tried pacman -Syud again i realized that it were trying to download the pacman*.pkg.tar.gz without the -i686. so it kept failing and the problem is for every package in the current repos and some in the extra and some in the testing...