You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-01 02:37:43

theringmaster
Member
From: Air Force
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 581
Website

pulseaudio problems

I tried to set up pulseaudio as well as I can. I've placed "pulseaudio" in my daemons array, I've done most of what the wiki told me, or what I could understand of it. I get a "daemon startup failed" when pulseaudio tries to start on boot. when I do "pulseaudio" in the terminal I get:

[jeff@gnome-box ~]$ pulseaudio
N: main.c: Called SUID root and real-time/high-priority scheduling was requested in the configuration. However, we lack the necessary priviliges:
N: main.c: We are not in group 'pulse-rt' and PolicyKit refuse to grant us priviliges. Dropping SUID again.
N: main.c: For enabling real-time scheduling please acquire the appropriate PolicyKit priviliges, or become a member of 'pulse-rt', or increase the RLIMIT_NICE/RLIMIT_RTPRIO resource limits for this user.
E: main.c: Failed to create '/tmp/pulse-jeff': Operation not permitted

any help would be greatly appreciated. If you need more info just ask.

edit: here's my daemon section from /etc/rc.conf

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng !network dhcdbd networkmanager netfs crond hal pulseaudio fam cups alsa)

and my groups:

disk lp games network video audio optical floppy storage scanner camera power users pulse-access jeff vboxusers

Last edited by theringmaster (2008-01-01 02:59:21)


Check me out on twitter!!! twitter.com/The_Ringmaster

Offline

#2 2008-01-01 11:48:13

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: pulseaudio problems

You have the answer right there in the first code box. Add yourself to the group. If you don't feel good creating a group, as that's only natural since no prior application has set it up for you to be comfortable (are you sure pulseaudio hasn't created it? check /etc/group.pacnew), then the next best (sane) thing to do would be increasing the limits in /etc/security/limits.conf:

@audio          -       rtprio          99
@audio          -       nice           -10
@audio          -       memlock         250000

Keep in mind that is for a pro audio setup so I have no idea why pulseaudio is using real-time. Go back to the configuration and don't enable it.


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#3 2008-01-01 12:11:39

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: pulseaudio problems

> I get a "daemon startup failed" when pulseaudio tries to start on boot.

Simply typing pulseaudio won't help you.

Have a look at /etc/rc.d/pulseaudio, open a root shell and go through each step by hand, omitting any /dev/null redirections of course.


1000

Offline

#4 2008-01-01 16:11:52

theringmaster
Member
From: Air Force
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 581
Website

Re: pulseaudio problems

schivmeister wrote:

You have the answer right there in the first code box. Add yourself to the group. If you don't feel good creating a group, as that's only natural since no prior application has set it up for you to be comfortable (are you sure pulseaudio hasn't created it? check /etc/group.pacnew), then the next best (sane) thing to do would be increasing the limits in /etc/security/limits.conf:

@audio          -       rtprio          99
@audio          -       nice           -10
@audio          -       memlock         250000

Keep in mind that is for a pro audio setup so I have no idea why pulseaudio is using real-time. Go back to the configuration and don't enable it.

No I don't believe that group exists and I have no I idea how to do the next thing (increasing security of something)


Check me out on twitter!!! twitter.com/The_Ringmaster

Offline

#5 2008-01-01 16:13:01

theringmaster
Member
From: Air Force
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 581
Website

Re: pulseaudio problems

byte wrote:

> I get a "daemon startup failed" when pulseaudio tries to start on boot.

Simply typing pulseaudio won't help you.

Have a look at /etc/rc.d/pulseaudio, open a root shell and go through each step by hand, omitting any /dev/null redirections of course.

here's the contents of /etc/rc.d/pulseaudio. anything I have to do here?

#!/bin/bash
[ -f /etc/conf.d/pulseudio ] && . /etc/conf.d/pulseaudio
. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions

PID=`pidof -o %PPID /usr/bin/pulseaudio`
case "$1" in
  start)
    #Check for running hal daemon, start when not running
    ck_daemon hal && /etc/rc.d/hal start
    stat_busy "Starting PulseAudio"
    
    modprobe -l | grep '/capability\.ko' >/dev/null
    if [ $? = 0 ] && [ ! $( lsmod | cut -d ' ' -f1 | grep '^capability$' >/dev/null ) ] ; then
      modprobe capability
    fi

    [ -z "$PID" ] && /usr/bin/pulseaudio ${PA_OPTS} --fail=1 --daemonize=1 --system
    if [ $? -gt 0 ]; then
      stat_fail
    else
      add_daemon pulseaudio
      stat_done
    fi
    ;;
  stop)
    stat_busy "Stopping PulseAudio"
    [ ! -z "$PID" ]  && kill $PID &> /dev/null
    if [ $? -gt 0 ]; then
      stat_fail
    else
      rm_daemon pulseaudio
      stat_done
    fi
    ;;
  restart)
    $0 stop
    sleep 2
    $0 start
    ;;
  *)
    echo "usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"
esac
exit 0

Check me out on twitter!!! twitter.com/The_Ringmaster

Offline

#6 2008-01-01 16:17:16

Mikko777
Member
From: Suomi, Finland
Registered: 2006-10-30
Posts: 837

Re: pulseaudio problems

I think i had to edit pulseaudio conf to not use the hal startup method the last time i tried pulseaudio, so that the daemon starts...

Check pulseaudio site for details.

Offline

#7 2008-01-01 17:04:23

theringmaster
Member
From: Air Force
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 581
Website

Re: pulseaudio problems

Mikko777 wrote:

I think i had to edit pulseaudio conf to not use the hal startup method the last time i tried pulseaudio, so that the daemon starts...

Check pulseaudio site for details.

couldn't I achieve the same effect by putting pulseaudio before hal in my daemons array?


Check me out on twitter!!! twitter.com/The_Ringmaster

Offline

#8 2008-01-01 17:35:14

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,046

Re: pulseaudio problems

/usr/bin/pulseaudio ${PA_OPTS} --fail=1 --daemonize=1 --system

That's the actual command for starting the daemon. Replace ${PA_OPTS} with the options from /etc/conf.d/pulseaudio and run it, as root.


1000

Offline

#9 2008-01-01 17:39:13

theringmaster
Member
From: Air Force
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 581
Website

Re: pulseaudio problems

byte wrote:
/usr/bin/pulseaudio ${PA_OPTS} --fail=1 --daemonize=1 --system

That's the actual command for starting the daemon. Replace ${PA_OPTS} with the options from /etc/conf.d/pulseaudio and run it, as root.

well thanks anyway. I'll be reinstalling on a new hard drive soon anyway. Pulseaudio will not be included. esd has worked for me.


Check me out on twitter!!! twitter.com/The_Ringmaster

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB