You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-05 16:47:25

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,580
Website

Compiz Shadows Question

First, thanks in advance to the community for your help.  (And thanks to the Arch Devs!)

Anyway, I am using Gnome and Compiz.  I have the window decorations and such set up the way I like them.  But now a question.  How do I change the color of the window shadows?  They are red/pink right now, as can bee seen from this screenshot:

http://www.bigpony.com/linuxscreenshots/redshadows.png

Now, whenever I go into either Compiz configurations OR Emerald configurations, my shadow colors are set the way a I want them (a dark black/blue color).  When I boot up, the red shadows are there.  When I go to mess with them, they just disappear.  When I reboot, the red shadows are back.  Does anyone have an idea of what could be causing this and how to change the shadows colors?

Again, thanks in advance.


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#2 2008-01-05 21:56:55

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,580
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

OK, I played around some more and found some interesting things.

1)  This is the HALO that's showing, not the window SHADOW.  No matter what I do I can;t get a SHADOW to show.
2)  All the settings can be correct, but sometimes the halo won't show unless you randomly check and uncheck the "round bottom corners..." buttons in Emeralds settings.  See this screenshot:  http://www.bigpony.com/linuxscreenshots … oissue.png

I am using Emerald, have an nVidia 8600 video card in my laptop, and xorg.conf is configured correctly.  I have "Loose Binding" and "Indrect Rendering" turned on, but changing these doesn't affect anything.  I have tried the "trueglass" and "legacy" Emerald engines extensively and both act the same (having to check and uncheck the "round bottom..." boxes randomly until they are both in the state I want AND the halo shows).

Any clues or just wait it out until all this is working some day?

Thanks again!


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#3 2008-01-06 02:47:59

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,580
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

I'm still talking to myself here, but here is a screen capture of what's going on.  Sometimes I can boot up and have halos.  Other times I cannot.  This particular time is right after turning the machine on after it had been off for a couple of hours (it's a laptop).  It booted up and had no halos.  I didn't run anything except a root terminal and something to record the desktop.

This file is an "ogv" file recorded with "recordmydesktop".  It's about 2.5MB and it's 1440x900.  It shouws what I'm talking about.  (Oh, and when the halo DOEs show, it's color seems to be "random"!)

http://www.bigpony.com/linuxscreenshots/emeraldhalo.ogv

Thanx again!


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#4 2008-01-06 10:45:38

Martyr
Member
From: Out there
Registered: 2006-10-04
Posts: 103
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

Same here, using nesl247's packages. Nvidia 8800gts.
You are not alone. wink

Offline

#5 2008-01-06 18:01:16

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,580
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

At least I know it's not just me then....


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#6 2008-01-13 01:05:16

5x5
Member
From: Texas
Registered: 2007-12-15
Posts: 25
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

Nope...not just you guys.  It's driving me nuts here as well.  Everything else...cube, expo, decos....everything works beautifully except shadows!!!  I have an 8600GT.  However, I've read that upgrading to the newest nVidia driver *may* solve the problem, I haven't installed it yet so I can't say for sure.  I hope someone replies to this thread.


I've finally achieved the Arch.  Life is good.

Offline

#7 2008-01-19 23:14:44

petzy
Member
Registered: 2007-10-01
Posts: 2

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

Hi guys,
I have a 8600GT on an Acer laptop. I had the same problem, I solved but I don't know how I did. I reinstalled Arch and now I have the issue back, I don't know how to have good shadows with compiz, I tried the 169.07 beta driver but with no success.
Now I'm writing from PCLinuxOS with 169.07 and I have good shadow and good compiz effects. I wonder what causes the problem in Arch....
Ciao!
Petz

Offline

#8 2008-01-20 00:30:13

freakcode
Member
From: São Paulo - Brazil
Registered: 2007-11-03
Posts: 410
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

It has nothing to do with your video card, Xorg, or Compiz itself. The compiz configuration utility is just broken, and every update it gets makes something go weird. You can still alter settings via gconf (apps -> compiz -> <plugin_name> -> <atributes>), or you can delete the old settings by deleting the ~/.gconf/apps/compiz folder

Offline

#9 2008-01-20 04:53:08

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,580
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

@freakcode

I'm not sure we're talking about the same problem.  Like right now I have a little orangy-yello glow around my windows.  That's cool -- I set it that way.  But I'll bet you the next time I log out and log in OR reboot, there's a 50/50 chance I'll have no window glow/halo.  Sometimes The halo is a nice CYAN color I didn't set.

The problem (at least for me) is that the halo is configured correctly, but it only shows up sometimes and other times it does not.  Check out my video in posting #3 and see what I'm talking about.


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#10 2008-01-20 17:19:06

freakcode
Member
From: São Paulo - Brazil
Registered: 2007-11-03
Posts: 410
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

mrunion wrote:

@freakcode

I'm not sure we're talking about the same problem.  Like right now I have a little orangy-yello glow around my windows.  That's cool -- I set it that way.  But I'll bet you the next time I log out and log in OR reboot, there's a 50/50 chance I'll have no window glow/halo.  Sometimes The halo is a nice CYAN color I didn't set.

The problem (at least for me) is that the halo is configured correctly, but it only shows up sometimes and other times it does not.  Check out my video in posting #3 and see what I'm talking about.

I never had _this_ specific problem, but a lot of times I had upgraded compiz and then some plugin changes its configuration or stops working. Compiz is beta software, so when its development change (and changes a lot), something get broke on the gconf, it happens all the time.

So, even its another problem you are having, you can try fixing it by cleaning up the old config and starting again (of course, considering isn't the plugin itself that is borked).

Offline

#11 2008-01-21 16:22:50

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

Running Fusion here shadows are working fine.....


Mr Green

Offline

#12 2008-01-21 17:45:35

Zer0
Member
From: Windsor, ON, Canada
Registered: 2006-08-25
Posts: 299

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

It has to be something borked in the compiz config files..

maybe try renaming the ~/.gconf/apps/compiz directory (while compiz isn't running), then re-start compiz and configure again.

Offline

#13 2008-01-31 11:19:07

koch
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 369

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

same problem here with 8800gts 640mb.

could someone post his ~/user/.emerald/themes/designname-file with working shadows. i just want to have look and compare it to mine.
thanks.

EDIT: i just recognized that compiz-decorator-kde is not installed. what is it for?

EDIT 2: found it, will try it.

Last edited by koch (2008-01-31 11:53:26)

Offline

#14 2008-02-01 02:25:13

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,580
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

Let me know if it works.  I tried creating a whole new user account to test with and somtimes I get halos, somtimes I don't.  when I do get halos, the color of them is just random.


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#15 2008-02-01 14:09:06

koch
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 369

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

same here, i disabled the shadows until i find a solution. i will write a bug-report over at the compiz-site.

Offline

#16 2008-02-16 02:02:32

struq
Member
From: Guangzhou
Registered: 2007-12-29
Posts: 16

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

same problem on my 8400m gs!
and sometimes the window decorations disappeared

However, I didn't get this problem before the last update

Offline

#17 2008-02-16 03:43:46

koch
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 369

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

just gone through the c-f-forum and c-f-bugs.
found one bug-report from yesterday and one post from last year but no solution.
have to go to bed now. it is 5 am here. tomorrow night i will ask in the c-f-forum about this.

Offline

#18 2008-02-23 17:03:25

struq
Member
From: Guangzhou
Registered: 2007-12-29
Posts: 16

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

I tried the 100.14.19 driver just now, and i see black shadows again (but blur does not work).
Is it a bug with the latest driver?

Offline

#19 2008-02-23 23:15:46

koch
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 369

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

unfortunately this didn't work for me.
when i installed arch i had the 100.14.19 but i had coloured shadows.
also with 169-driver.

Offline

#20 2008-02-24 00:56:47

struq
Member
From: Guangzhou
Registered: 2007-12-29
Posts: 16

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

did you remove package NVIDIA and NVIDIA-UTILS?
i found that someone using ubuntu hardy also have this problem.
it seem to be only with 8 series cards.

Offline

#21 2008-02-24 10:22:00

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

for me I can't even configure shadows with compiz+kwin sad


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#22 2008-02-26 03:42:13

koch
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 369

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

@stuq: no
@schivmeister: same here

Offline

#23 2008-02-26 10:23:00

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

and I'm with an intel =/


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#24 2008-02-26 17:41:48

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

I don't have any shadows here with compiz fusion git. I'm using the latest nVidia drivers and Arch64. I did note that Glow/Halo works with the group plugin.

Offline

#25 2008-02-26 18:02:17

koch
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 369

Re: Compiz Shadows Question

latest nvidia, arch32.
glow/halo works.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB