You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-10 02:36:36

rdking

mixing software QT & GTK

I don't want to bring up the sensitive issue of QT versus GTK+ (and gnome versus KDE) blather....we all have our choice and that is great.

I have been using linux for some 3 years, and have never looked back to MS since I did.  I love being in control, having a stable clean, safe platform...and one which doesn't cost me every year to keep up on the latest software.  But I find myself asking a few questions.....

As a regular user, I need certain programs, a word processor for everyday, spreadsheet, mail, browser etc....The problem is, my applications of choice, span both those requiring QT and GTK.  For word processing I prefer Kword over abiword...for spreadsheets Gnumeric is much superior to Kcalc  (because it offers more functions,chart types and will output charts directly to png or jpg)...email, well thats korganizer with kmail, though truth be told thunderbird, if it had a real good calendar would trump it.  And firefox for browsing.  Oh, and for real Latex work, nothing beats Kile (which is simplified by saving your spreadsheets and charts as pics).

I prefer the expandability and control, and looks so use KDEmod over gnome, but in some cases, the gnome counterparts are simply better thought out, or more complete programs.  Now I don't mind the overhead of all the libraries, and the odd program which doesn't blend into my desktop.... but I have to question it all.

So much work is put into all these competing programs, based off different libraries and tool-chains....wouldn't life be easier for all, if we adopted one or the other....or standardized everything with a new system?  Some people can't deal with the load of all the extra libraries, space, and memory.  Is there an answer...is it comming down the tube...or do we simply continue picking the best programs for our individual needs, regardless of whether they are QT or GTK

#2 2008-01-10 14:40:38

freakcode
Website