You are not logged in.

#1 2008-02-11 17:51:26

bluesurfer
Member
From: Regensburg, Germany
Registered: 2004-08-29
Posts: 22

snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Hi,

I have troubles with the sound card on a fresh Arch install.

I have a Asus P5B-Plus Mainboard, which has an ADI 1988 Soundchip. Sound works great in other distributions like opensuse 10.3 (kernel 2.6.22), so perhaps it is an issue with the new 2.6.24 kernel?

I tried to configure the card with alsaconf, no luck. I also tried to pass the different models with "options snd-hda-intel model=SOMETHING_HERE" in /etc/modprobe.conf, it doesn't work.

The really strange thing is that it works perfectly in opensuse 10.3 which has a much older kernel.

Can anyone please help me?

Here are a few outputs and relevant part of logs:

# lspci | grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
# dmesg
[...]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1b.0[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
PCI: Unable to reserve mem region #1:4000@febf8000 for device 0000:00:1b.0
ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:00:1b.0 disabled
HDA Intel: probe of 0000:00:1b.0 failed with error -16
[...]
# hwdetect --show-sound
SOUND  : snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd snd-hda-intel soundcore
# amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device

Last edited by bluesurfer (2008-02-11 17:53:13)

Offline

#2 2008-02-12 18:04:08

bluesurfer
Member
From: Regensburg, Germany
Registered: 2004-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

I downgraded to kernel 2.6.23.14-1 and the sound works! So it is definitely a kernel 2.6.24 issue. I hope there will be a fix soon... hmm

Offline

#3 2008-02-12 19:47:19

josc
Member
Registered: 2008-02-08
Posts: 5

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)

works with snd_hda_intel and kernel 2.6.24

Offline

#4 2008-02-12 20:34:13

wyvern
Member
From: 'Old' Scottish/English border.
Registered: 2008-01-06
Posts: 70

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

It seems a very specific problem though, mine's:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

And it works flawlessly. Not had a problem yet, though the drivers/modules are still quite new.

Alsaconf put these in my modprobe.conf:

alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel

And these are my sound modules:

snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd-hda-intel soundcore

Perhaps if you were to ever try 2.6.24 again, you could try placing those lines into your modprobe.conf and inserting each module by hand?

I know our cards are still in development, so it's just a matter of time till they're fully supported smile As is, I have 'Front, PCM and Headphone' as my main channels, no Master.

Offline

#5 2008-02-12 21:50:30

bluesurfer
Member
From: Regensburg, Germany
Registered: 2004-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

hm strange. alsaconf put the same lines in my modprobe.conf which didn't help.
I didn't try to insert the modules separately. I think I will wait until a update of alsa or the kernel is in the repos.

Thanks anyways for your feedback.

Offline

#6 2008-02-13 14:48:57

JaQoB
Member
Registered: 2007-04-04
Posts: 60

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Same problem here. Sound is gone in 2.6.24
Tried the new alsa (0.16) and some problem with that.
So the kernel is most likely the one to blame.

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
Linux XPS 2.6.24-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Feb 10 15:21:33 UTC 2008 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Offline

#7 2008-02-15 16:34:44

JaQoB
Member
Registered: 2007-04-04
Posts: 60

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Play some sound, suspend, and resume. After that i have sound again, until I reboot.
But after resume, just one of my cpu cores seems to work... Nice choice wink

Offline

#8 2008-02-24 21:34:04

Bapman
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 140

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

JaQoB wrote:

Play some sound, suspend, and resume. After that i have sound again, until I reboot.
But after resume, just one of my cpu cores seems to work... Nice choice wink

Yes it works ! Thank you very much, I started becoming crazy !
And indeed, only one CPU is working after that ! Who is to be blamed ? Kernel ? sad

Offline

#9 2008-02-25 06:54:05

wuischke
Member
From: Suisse Romande
Registered: 2007-01-06
Posts: 630

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Please try to unload (rmmod snd-hda-intel) and reloading (modprobe snd-hda-intel) and setting the volume via alsa-mixer afterwards. I'm having trouble every odd kernel revisions, too, and this usually helps.

Offline

#10 2008-02-25 08:32:21

Bapman
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 140

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

I thought it would do the same thing as suspend but unfortunately it does not work sad ! Thanks for answer though smile

Last edited by Bapman (2008-02-25 08:32:55)

Offline

#11 2008-02-25 13:36:45

redguardtoo
Member
From: China, Shanghai
Registered: 2007-11-28
Posts: 43
Website

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

try to remove or modify the snd-hda-intel options in /etc/modproble.conf

I had the same problem on my eee pc 701 surf , and I solved the problem by removing the options.

some blog authors said they tried different options manually and succeeded at last (with kernel 2.6.24).

follow link list some options.
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/KernelHdaDriverOptions

Last edited by redguardtoo (2008-02-25 13:37:31)


Help me, Help you
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 + 3G + GeForce GST 250
Archlinux+musca+tint2+netcfg

Offline

#12 2008-02-25 14:32:56

JaQoB
Member
Registered: 2007-04-04
Posts: 60

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Remove =5stack got my sound back!
Thanks!

Offline

#13 2008-03-03 00:57:15

timm
Member
From: Wisconsin
Registered: 2004-02-25
Posts: 417

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

My P5B motherboard system, using the snd-hda-intel module, has lost sound as well, have tried the solutions here with no luck.  lspci finds it, but I cannot access it with alsamixer; it finds the cx88 (which I think is on my pvr350).  My intel shows up as rev. 02

Last edited by timm (2008-03-03 00:58:27)

Offline

#14 2008-03-04 21:57:19

JaQoB
Member
Registered: 2007-04-04
Posts: 60

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

JaQoB wrote:

Remove =5stack got my sound back!
Thanks!

And gone again... hmm
I just dont understand this...

Last edited by JaQoB (2008-03-04 22:07:14)

Offline

#15 2008-03-05 03:30:09

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

no prob here


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#16 2008-03-06 12:10:45

bluesurfer
Member
From: Regensburg, Germany
Registered: 2004-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

I have still no sound with kernel26 (2.6.24.3-1). This is very annoying mad

Offline

#17 2008-03-06 23:00:02

redguardtoo
Member
From: China, Shanghai
Registered: 2007-11-28
Posts: 43
Website

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

JaQoB wrote:
JaQoB wrote:

Remove =5stack got my sound back!
Thanks!

And gone again... hmm
I just dont understand this...

maybe you upgraded your kernel. what's your kernel version?

$`uname -a`

I found a guide on configuring sound card.
http://forum.ubuntu.org.cn/viewtopic.ph … 830b7d6e9d
I translated it into english.

Actually, the whole process is very simple.
0. cat /proc/asound/version to get your alsa version
1. run alsamixer to get the chip id on second line of output
2. open the alsa guide on /usr/src/linux/Documentation/sound/alsa/ALSA-Configuration.txt. if you don't have the kernel source, you know where to get it. wink
or just open http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Document … ration.txt.

Search you chip id in this file. then modify snd-hda-intel option in /etc/modprobe.conf according to the documentation.
3. visit http://bugtrack.alsa-project.org/main/i … -hda-intel and do exactly it tells.
4. reboot

That's all.

Last edited by redguardtoo (2008-03-06 23:50:55)


Help me, Help you
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 + 3G + GeForce GST 250
Archlinux+musca+tint2+netcfg

Offline

#18 2008-03-07 11:12:25

JaQoB
Member
Registered: 2007-04-04
Posts: 60

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Thanks alot, but still no sound sad
Cant understand why it disappeared again...
(Still have sound after suspend/resume...)

Offline

#19 2008-03-07 15:13:09

JTD
Member
From: Port Moody,BC
Registered: 2006-06-26
Posts: 27

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

JaQoB wrote:

Thanks alot, but still no sound sad
Cant understand why it disappeared again...
(Still have sound after suspend/resume...)

I had the same problem when I did a system upgrade yesterday but it 'automagically' fixed itself.
This is what I did first though.

I reinstalled my / partition using Acronis backup (awesome program!) then rebooted.
This got me back to where the sound worked.  Kernel was 2.6.24-ARCH (1-2 I believe).
Then I upgraded the system again and lo and behold it worked when I booted into KDEmod (their startup jingle).

Now everything is fine, sound and the latest kernel, 2.6.24-ARCH (3-1)

JTD

Offline

#20 2008-03-07 18:32:17

timm
Member
From: Wisconsin
Registered: 2004-02-25
Posts: 417

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

I downgraded my kernel and got everything working again, but today I decided to give this another try.

I did a full upgrade to bring the kernel to the latest.

I typed "alsamixer" just to see what's there  - it works!  Card is recognized!  Set my levels and reboot!

Type "alsamixer".  Nothing.  My CX card is there, the intel is nowhere to be found and I can't get it back up using any of the tricks in this thread.:mad::mad:

Offline

#21 2008-03-07 22:53:41

cdrigby
Member
Registered: 2008-02-05
Posts: 3

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Just a "me too" post.

I have an Intel DG965RY mobo and approx one week ago sound was working fine:

lspci reports: 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
alsamixer reports:  Chip: SigmaTel STAC9227
/etc/modprobe.conf contains: options snd-hda-intel model=3stack
/etc/asound.state exists

pacman -Syu upgraded kernel26 to version 2.6.24.3-1 when I ran it on 5 Mar 2008 after a week of vacation. Sound does still work under Ubuntu 7.10, which is completely updated.

Sound no longer works under ArchLinux, though, as evidenced by KMix not "seeing" any sound cards, and GNOME's volume control not finding any elements to control. alsamixer DOES find the card, and appears to configure it just fine, except that it no longer shows a "PCM" channel. (I could swear it was there before.) Still, no sound from digital sources (e.g., youtube).

I tried reverting the kernel to 2.6.24.2-1, creating a .asoundrc file, tweaking /etc/modprobe.conf options line. No results.

I'm out of time for trying to troubleshoot this now, but I'll check back later.

CDR

Offline

#22 2008-03-12 02:32:01

Bapman
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 140

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Still no sound ! That's hard sad

Offline

#23 2008-03-22 16:28:33

Bapman
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2007-09-02
Posts: 140

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Thanks for the try but this is not working ! I think it really depends on the sound chipset you have (Sigmatel STAC9228 for me on a Dell M1330).
I also tried kernel 2.6.24.3-4 in testing but it is even worse (alsactl shows an error) !

Offline

#24 2008-03-22 21:32:30

bluesurfer
Member
From: Regensburg, Germany
Registered: 2004-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Well I think this problem occurs only if you have PCI Id 8086:284b. You can find your PCI Id with

 lspci -n | grep `lspci | grep -i audio | awk '{print $1}'`

Offline

#25 2008-03-22 22:07:14

Blind
Member
From: Desert mountain
Registered: 2005-02-06
Posts: 383

Re: snd-hda-intel doesn't work on 2.6.24

Mmh.
So here is my problem:
Dell Inspiron 640m
HDA Intel: SigmaTel STAC9200

0. Playing sound works.

1. Microphone used to work in kdemod with kmix (same kernel, yesterday). I switched to XFCE and life was good, until I saw I cannot skype anymore. The reason: the microphone (capture) sound level cannot be increased to a number above zero., neither in alsa-mixer nor xfce-mixer.

2. setting the model=dell-m21 in modprobe.d/sound options doesn't work

I dunno, doesn't seem like a kernel problem to me - or is kmix using OSS emulation...?

I am clueless.

Cheers,
Blind

[Edit]
BTW:

> lspci -n | grep `lspci | grep -i audio | awk '{print $1}'`
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 01)

[/Edit]

Last edited by Blind (2008-03-22 23:35:24)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB