You are not logged in.

#1 2008-02-12 09:07:34

stylopath
Member
Registered: 2007-07-26
Posts: 112

Installing arch as guest on vmware

Hi!

I'm trying to install Archlinux on a virtual-machine but archlinux doesn't recognize the virtual harddrive.
The Virtual HD is type SCSI what is the problem i guess. I read about a kernel (arch-scsi), but it's not on the installation disc and i can not find any disc containing this kernel.

Does anyone have any suggestions how to fix this?

Note: With "doesn't recognize" I mean that the arch installer claims that there is simply no harddrive sad

Offline

#2 2008-02-12 16:40:27

cell
Member
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 96

Re: Installing arch as guest on vmware

Hi

Try with a IDE HD setup.
On a side note I could not get grub working in a VM with arch so you might want to try lilo.

Offline

#3 2008-02-12 20:55:34

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519
Website

Re: Installing arch as guest on vmware

No problems with grub here, the new kernel 2.6.24-2 however did brake my installation, and still has some problems.

Offline

#4 2008-02-12 21:52:12

stylopath
Member
Registered: 2007-07-26
Posts: 112

Re: Installing arch as guest on vmware

IDE HD Setup solved the issue (thanks cell for your answer!) - I didn't know this option because i had no rootlogin for the vmware Host. Anyway, arch runs fine now (even with grub) and so i can "play" with it @ work now smile

Offline

#5 2008-02-22 08:19:20

landrand
Member
Registered: 2008-02-22
Posts: 7

Re: Installing arch as guest on vmware

I'm having trouble installing arch as a guest OS in vmware. I'm having the same problem as the original poster.   I don't quite understand what "try IDE HD Setup" means in the previous post. Can someone explain.  Thanks.

Offline

#6 2008-02-22 09:09:54

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519
Website

Re: Installing arch as guest on vmware

When you create a new guest machine, you are asked several questions like what kind of system, how many cores, how much memory...
When it asks to create a new harddrive (or use an existing one, or even a physical) you can choose to either use SCSI (default) or IDE.
This is where you need to choose IDE I guess. I'm not having problems with SCSI however...
What kind of host machine are you using?

Offline

#7 2008-02-22 23:41:50

landrand
Member
Registered: 2008-02-22
Posts: 7

Re: Installing arch as guest on vmware

I'm using PCLinuxOS 2008 as the host OS and the current vmware server product..  I used your info and was able to install arch as a guest OS.   I wasn't able to install the grub bootloader.   Lilo was installed instead.  When I boot up the archlinux guest OS, it takes forever to determine the disks to use as it scans all the devices from sda to sdz, plus other devices that look like sddq.   My partitions use devices like /dev/sddq1 for /boot,  /dev/sddq2 for swap, and /dev/sddq3 for /.   Any idea's what I'd need to do to have it boot up faster rather than scan through all the disk devices?  Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB