You are not logged in.

#1 2008-02-18 23:06:05

baro

How to start a skript after network interface is started ?

Hello,

I am new to Archlinux and don't know the Archlinux way to start a script after wpa_supplicant has connected my wlan0 device to an AP.
I want to start "firestarter" after wlan0 is up because starting firestarter via an daemon entry in rc.conf isn't working as wlan0 isn't up at that moment.
Is there something like an "ifup" script-/directory - I can't find it ?

Best regards,

Ingo

#2 2008-02-18 23:12:40

bender02

Re: How to start a skript after network interface is started ?

I don't know of an "official" way to start something automatically after something happens. The way I'd do it is to run a script from /etc/rc.local (that gets executed at the end of init process), which would have something like this in it:

#!/bin/bash
until [ `wpa_cli -i wlan0 status | grep COMPLETED | wc -l` -eq 1 ]
do
        sleep 5
done;
-> here the command to start firestarter (probably /etc/rc.d/firestarter start)

What it does is that it polls wpa supplicant each 5 seconds to see if it's connected to an AP. When it is, the script continues to the last line, which runs firestarter. (EDIT: cleanup)

Another EDIT: now I see a better way to do it: if you are using iphitus' netcfg2 to bring up the network (aka network profiles/scripts wiki), then you can add the command to start firestarter (/etc/rc.d/firestarter start) to the field "POST_UP" in your configuration profile (should be some file in /etc/network.d/). Have a look at /etc/network.d/examples/complete.example.

Last edited by bender02 (2008-02-18 23:18:52)

#3 2008-02-19 08:26:35

baro

I have tested both without success.