You are not logged in.

#1 2008-02-21 00:18:03

Canute
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-23
Posts: 21

[req]Updated version of Panda3d

There is already an very outdated package . I tried just changing the version number, but it didn't work out.

You can find the sources here.

smile

Offline

#2 2008-03-12 22:16:57

krigun
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 122
Website

Re: [req]Updated version of Panda3d

Here is a PKGBUILD that works for 1.4.2

# Maintainer: William Rea <sillywilly@<REMOVED>.com>
pkgname=panda3d
pkgver=1.4.2
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="3D engine with Python bindings"
url="http://www.panda3d.org"
arch=('i686')
depends=('python' 'freetype2' 'mesa' 'libtiff' 'openssl' 'libpng' 'cgcompiler')
source=(http://www.panda3d.org/download/panda3d-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('0e5393bad1cd6e66d6228e37477bdf84')

build() {
  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/opt/panda3d
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
  python makepanda/makepanda.py --everything
  cp built/* $startdir/pkg/opt/panda3d -r
  cp models $startdir/pkg/opt/panda3d -r
  cp samples $startdir/pkg/opt/panda3d -r
  cp direct/src $startdir/pkg/opt/panda3d/direct -r
}

Last edited by krigun (2008-03-12 22:52:52)

Offline

#3 2008-03-20 03:18:05

Canute
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-23
Posts: 21

Re: [req]Updated version of Panda3d

Thank you for taking your time with making a PGKBUILD. It built and installed quite nicely, however I am having some troubles actually using it. It seems like python can't find the libraries. I tried adding the panda3d.profile, as it was in the old build, but didn't help.

I get this error:

import direct.directbase.DirectStart
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
ImportError: No module named direct.directbase.DirectStart

However, I noticed when I tried to start python from /opt/panda3d, I got another error.

>>> import direct.directbase.DirectStart
DirectStart: Starting the game.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "direct/src/directbase/DirectStart.py", line 3, in <module>
    from direct.showbase import ShowBase
  File "direct/src/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 10, in <module>
    from pandac.PandaModules import *
ImportError: No module named pandac.PandaModules

As it states, it is looking for some pandac stuff, however (at least my) pandac folder is empty (except for a folder called "input" which is also empty).


I also tried using 1.5.0 which just got released, no help.

Last edited by Canute (2008-03-20 03:18:28)

Offline

#4 2008-03-20 09:42:09

krigun
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 122
Website

Re: [req]Updated version of Panda3d

Oh, sorry about that. You need to tell python where it should look for native libraries:

cd /opt/panda3d/samples/Sample-Programs--Infinite-Tunnel/
export PYTHONPATH=/opt/panda3d:/opt/panda3d/lib:$PYTHONPATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/panda3d/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
python Tut-Infinite-Tunnel.py

Obviously, setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH like that is not a very good idea ( http://prefetch.net/articles/linkers.badldlibrary.html ) but I suppose its not a big deal if you set it in your applications startup script. The Panda3D libs should have been linked with the rpath option build time ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rpath_(linking) ) , but I do not have the energy to do that right now. The above code does work fine tho.

Offline

#5 2008-03-20 18:36:58

Canute
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-04-23
Posts: 21

Re: [req]Updated version of Panda3d

Thanks, got it working. And by the way, panda3d is dependant on "bison" which I did not have. That should probably go into the PKGBUILD also.

Offline

#6 2008-03-20 22:32:05

Stefan Husmann
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-07
Posts: 1,391

Re: [req]Updated version of Panda3d

Bison is a build tool, I think it should be enough to put it to the makedependencies.

BTW, the package is orphande in AUR and can easily be adopted to update it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB