You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-02 12:37:57

Demon

Help me set up ADSL connection

Hi everybody!

I'm new to this forum, and I'm using Arch linux for about a week or two. I'm using Linux for about 2 years, though, so I'm not a newbie Linux user.
However, I'm having troubles with my adsl connection to internet. I have Thomson SpeedTouch 530 v5 adsl modem, connected via integrated Realtec network card. I have internet as long I as I don't start adsl service. But when I start adsl service I can't access internet anymore.

Any help regarding this matter is highly appreciated.

P.S. I have already read a bunch of simillar topics on this forum, but nothing actually helped me.

#2 2008-03-02 19:32:17

vogt

Re: Help me set up ADSL connection

I might be wrong about this, but:sometimes the adsl modem might just communicate with your computer using tcp/ip (like on a lan between computers), and not using ppp for which you probably need to configure pppd which is the adsl daemon....

Without starting /etc/rc.d/adsl, this is probably what happens: the modem somehow has its username and password saved, and connects automatically, then either accepts your static ip address, or assigns one via dhcp (probably the latter, since you didn't have to specify dns servers in /etc/resolv.conf, right?).

EDIT: it would be more helpful to say what you actually tried, so we can see what didn't work.

Last edited by vogt (2008-03-02 19:33:11)

#3 2008-03-02 19:49:39

Demon

Hi vogt!

First to say that my modem began to acting strange last few days. Even on my Mandriva system sometimes it gives me troubles.

I have dynamical IP, and my current setup on Arch is this:

rc.conf wrote:

HOSTNAME="demon"

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
#eth0="eth0 0.0.0.0 up"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

gateway="dhcp"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

DAEMONS=(@syslog-ng network adsl @httpd @mysqld @netfs @crond @ntpd @sensors @cpufreq alsa hal fam kdm)

/etc/ppp/pppoe.conf wrote:

ETH='eth0'
USER='pejakm@adsl'
DEMAND=no