You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-11 11:32:37

blackbird

Some questions before I install Awesome WM

Hi,

I'm new to Arch and relatively new to Linux in general but I do enjoy tinkering with it.

Recently I have tried many different window managers, Gnome, KDE, Openbox and Fluxbox, each of which have their own little perks. However whilst browsing through the monthly screen shot threads I stumbled upon something new, something I haven't heard of; tiling window managers. I find the idea behind them to be innovative and would like to give them a try, particularly Awesome WM, before I do so I have a few questions outlined below.

1). I understand that a mouse is not needed, which can be a good thing but an obstacle as well depending on what I want to do. What I would like to ask is that can you keep the mouse functionality as well such as the cursor, left click, right click and possibly the scroll wheel? (Is this possible in both Xmonad and Awesome WM)

2). Can you have a panel so that you can either easily launch your applications or when you minimize say pidgin you can see its status icon?

3). Most of the screen shots I have seen show all these terminal windows running, I assume thats just for show. You can run gui based aps too such as something for burning cds, openoffice, firefox and other gtk aps?

4). If neither apply to Awesome WM, could you point me in the direction of a tiling window manager more tailored for my needs.

Please only leave helpful comments, I don't want to hear comments such as why do you want to use Awesome WM if your planning on running gui aps or don't want to run their terminal alternatives....Linux is about choice and I am entitled to my own as are you.

If you can help that would be "awesome".

PS: Please excuse the rather verbose post; its a problem of mine, hopefully one you come to find endearing.

Last edited by blackbird (2008-03-11 11:50:19)

#2 2008-03-11 11:57:43

chimeric
Website

Re: Some questions before I install Awesome WM