You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-23 18:04:30

timm
Member
From: Wisconsin
Registered: 2004-02-25
Posts: 417

Cannot install via FTP today

I'm trying to set up a system today, and after several attempts have had to give up.  I'm using FTP, which reports that several mirrors are apparently down; when I find one that will download the packages (gatech), after it's done downloading I get an error about a "missing package filelist", it allows me to go configure the system, but rc.conf is a blank file.  I've tried 3 times in case it was something at my end, same result.  Will continue to look for a cause here.

[bump]

I did get a CD install done and it is updating flawlessly.

Last edited by timm (2008-03-23 19:02:06)

Offline

#2 2008-03-24 00:05:54

GerBra
Forum Fellow
From: Bingen/Germany
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 201

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

I could confim the problem with ftp/http install.
On archlinux.de we have also two users with problems. At the moment i try a install on VM and see these
problems after downloading base packages:

Got several errors about: missing package filelist in /mnt/var/cache/pacman/pkg/glibc
and other packages.
After: checking for file conflicts i got 3 stoppers:
/mnt/.CHANGELOG exists in both 'glibc' and 'perl'
/mnt/.CHANGELOG exists in both 'glibc' and 'initscripts'
/mnt/.CHANGELOG exists in both 'perl' and 'initscripts'

If i got further into "Configure System" all config files are empty.

Offline

#3 2008-03-24 00:40:13

bulio
Member
From: Montreal, QC
Registered: 2008-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

I had a similar problem installing yesterday. I worked around it by selecting the option to use a custom mirror, and chose a mirror from this page:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mirrors

Offline

#4 2008-03-24 00:44:35

GerBra
Forum Fellow
From: Bingen/Germany
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 201

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

On my tests i used several mirrors, after syncing they seem to have all the same packages.
I guess the is something broken after glibc and perl upgrade.

Offline

#5 2008-03-24 01:11:52

bulio
Member
From: Montreal, QC
Registered: 2008-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Yeah I just tried the mirrors on a system install and I'm getting the problem now too.

Offline

#6 2008-03-24 01:16:27

GerBra
Forum Fellow
From: Bingen/Germany
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 201

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

I've filed a bugreport:
http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/9925

Offline

#7 2008-03-24 04:08:20

deficite
Member
From: Augusta, GA
Registered: 2005-06-02
Posts: 693

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

The reason for this is that new packages no longer have the filelists embedded. If you are installing arch from the 2007 setup disc, run a "pacman -Sy pacman" from the command line and all your problems should go away.

Offline

#8 2008-03-24 05:45:53

c3l5o
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2007-10-14
Posts: 7

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

killed myself trying to install i686 yesterday... hmm Wish i'd found this sooner, had to ask a friend to burn me a core version cd and then pacman -Syu when it finished the installation from the cd.

Offline

#9 2008-03-24 10:22:17

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 670
Website

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Same issue in this location, but confirm this has been fixed.
On first N attempts to install from FTP, it went through till "Configure System" step without error message but about 'filelists missing'
/mnt/etc & many other dirs were not created and when i vim into any conf file, it found no file.
Finaly worked yesterday evening while going the usual way. Hadn't found this post yet, so i first thought it was a mirror issue.

Also http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mirrors could be printed at some point during Install > mirror configuration, as some mirrors are not up to the date (like belnet)


Seeded last month: Arch 50 gig, derivatives 1 gig
Desktop @3.3GHz 8 gig RAM, linux-ck
laptop #1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (6H w/ 6yrs old battery smile) #2: ARM Tegra K1, 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

#10 2008-03-26 04:44:09

bendany
Member
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 11

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

deficite wrote:

The reason for this is that new packages no longer have the filelists embedded. If you are installing arch from the 2007 setup disc, run a "pacman -Sy pacman" from the command line and all your problems should go away.

kill me before I found this answer....

I would save my life(time) if I google first. ;-)

thanks man!

Offline

#11 2008-03-27 18:47:54

ethan961
Member
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 6

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

deficite wrote:

The reason for this is that new packages no longer have the filelists embedded. If you are installing arch from the 2007 setup disc, run a "pacman -Sy pacman" from the command line and all your problems should go away.

Thanks!
I must have reburned about 3 times thinking I had a bad burn. Works wonderfully after running that.
Again, Thanks!

Offline

#12 2008-03-29 04:34:53

scotti
Member
Registered: 2008-02-26
Posts: 41

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

deficite wrote:

The reason for this is that new packages no longer have the filelists embedded. If you are installing arch from the 2007 setup disc, run a "pacman -Sy pacman" from the command line and all your problems should go away.

This worked for me, too. Thanks! big_smile

Offline

#13 2008-03-31 14:34:49

hanman
Member
Registered: 2007-05-16
Posts: 19

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

the thing i like most about this community is that my questions are often answered before i can get around to asking them.

thanks for the help.

Offline

#14 2008-03-31 16:58:11

VuDu
Member
Registered: 2007-05-11
Posts: 95

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Thanks for the answers, after reburning the cd I really doubted it was "my fault", so here I am. smile

But... how can a problem like this happen?
Shouldn't a working ISO or some announcement on the main page have already been made so that headaches like this never happen?

Comment by Tobias Powalowski (tpowa) - Monday, 24 March 2008, 03:31 GMT-4
please use the latest ISOs from here or your favourite mirror:
ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/rc-iso/2008.03
ftp install is broken since a long time.

I think there should be some announcement on the main page, no? sad

Last edited by VuDu (2008-03-31 17:08:47)

Offline

#15 2008-03-31 18:29:56

Aaron
Member
From: PA, USA
Registered: 2007-12-19
Posts: 108
Website

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Yes, I second that there should be an announcement about this, this had me scratching my head for days, and this wasn't anywhere near my first arch install either!

Offline

#16 2008-03-31 18:56:04

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Look, phrakture in disguise!


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#17 2008-04-05 19:49:04

chm0d
Member
Registered: 2008-04-05
Posts: 19

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

I am sorry if this is such a newb question.  I have tried for the past 2 days to get Archlinux installed via FTP with no luck at all.  I came across this thread but I guess I still am not doing it correctly.  Can someone explain to me what order I need to do this in?  I have installed Arch lots of times before but now I don't understand what has happened.

Chm0d

Offline

#18 2008-04-09 18:25:45

allbluedream
Member
Registered: 2008-04-06
Posts: 155

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

chm0d wrote:

I am sorry if this is such a newb question.  I have tried for the past 2 days to get Archlinux installed via FTP with no luck at all.  I came across this thread but I guess I still am not doing it correctly.  Can someone explain to me what order I need to do this in?  I have installed Arch lots of times before but now I don't understand what has happened.

Chm0d

Is it working now?

First make sure you are connected to the net

ping -c 3 www.google.com

I did this to insure that my dhcp works:

dhcpcd -t 120 eth0

This sets the timeout, as the default timeout doesn't always guarantee a connection.
(If you don't use dhcp please ignore this.)

Update pacman

pacman -Sy pacman

Then proceed to /arch/setup

----

I do think that the Beginner's Guide should reflect this pacman incompatibility problem.

Last edited by allbluedream (2008-04-09 18:30:47)

Offline

#19 2008-04-12 05:25:37

Kalos
Member
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 3

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Wow, I thought I was just a total moron.  I've installed Gentoo over 500 times on various machines, and thought I would install Arch on my Dad's computer (as he would hate to wait for things to compile).  I couldn't get past the package installation.  Got a huge amount of errors relating to missing packages filelists and the CHANGELOG errors listed above.  Good to know that I'm not an idiot and that others experienced the same problem.

For what it's worth, I would also recommend adding this to the installation guide, as I nearly gave up on the installation.

Last edited by Kalos (2008-04-12 05:25:56)

Offline

#20 2008-04-12 05:40:16

Kalos
Member
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 3

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Posted too soon.  I can't get any of the packages to install after I select them.  Here's what I did:

1.  Booted the Installation disc (FTP)
2.  Configured my network
3.  Tested network via ping
4.  Opened up VC2 and did pacman -Sy pacman
5.  Went through the rest of the installation processes as normal
6.  Fetched the packages from a mirror
7.  Went to "Install Packages," but got an error that one or more failed to download

In VC5, it shows that

error: problem setting dbpath '/mnt//var/lib/pacman/' (could not find or read directory)

Now I noticed that there are two slashes before var, but I don't see how that problem could have occurred from what I did thus far.

Offline

#21 2008-04-19 11:04:35

daneel971
Member
Registered: 2008-03-28
Posts: 182

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Yesterday I tried an FTP install using both the 200708-2 iso and the latest RC: they failed with a "package not found error".
As suggested above, I tried upgrading pacman and changing the mirror, but to no avail.
It worked only when I deselected the "devel group" from the packages selection list. After the installation, all went fine.

Offline

#22 2008-04-19 19:16:26

Dregel
Member
Registered: 2007-01-28
Posts: 32

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Having a similar problem, after i have selected packages and am ftp to download from and i select Install Packages in the setup menu it just says "One or more packages failed to download, You can try again by re-selecting Insall Packages from the main menu."

Ping www.google.com

works just fine so i guess there is nothing wrong with my dhcp or connection.

i allso ran a:

pacman -Sy pacman

but that dosent seam to help hmm
any tips annyone?

Offline

#23 2008-04-27 12:28:26

vodka
Member
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 4

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Yup, fails for me too. Tried the latest RC and the version before that (which used to work with that sync/update fix).

Offline

#24 2008-04-28 20:53:25

chris_ak
Member
Registered: 2008-03-25
Posts: 64

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

yes the problem is with the 'abs' package.

Offline

#25 2008-04-29 03:25:10

giltwist
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 3

Re: Cannot install via FTP today

Confirming that deselecting abs package in devel solved this problem.

So...do I need to get it somewhere else later?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB