You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-24 18:27:28

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website

Nethackers?

Just wanted to know how many of you play and appreciate Nethack.
I have discovered this game about one year ago. After hearing so much about it and its greatness, I ended up installing it to see what it was about. Faced with a @ and a d, I tried to move with the arrow keys, producing strange menus. I got fed up and left it for some months. After a while I decided to give it another go, wanting to explore the world of ASCII gaming. This time I started reading the guide and learnt the basic controls. I started playing and I was hooked in no time. After a year I'm still hooked, and of course I never managed to get back from the Gnomish Mines, stubborn as I am to take that route tongue

Today I scored my highest highscore, surely you can laugh at it tongue

1      15807  finferflu-Val-Hum-Fem-Neu died in The Gnomish Mines            
                on level 10.  Killed by a gelatinous cube.              -  [67]

It is one of the rare times I've used a Valkyrie. I usually stick with a Samurai or a Wizard.

Anyway, I wanna hear your views. In my opinion really Nethack is one of the best games I've ever played. The ASCII interface is one of the big boosts. Imagination is much better than visuals.

And to conclude, here is a cool article I have found, a bit old, but Nethack is not that recent either (even the latest version dates back to 2003): http://archive.salon.com/tech/feature/2 … index.html

Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

#2 2008-03-24 18:59:18

lucke

Re: Nethackers?

I used to play MUDs and a bit of ADOM.

#3 2008-03-24 19:21:22

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website