You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-20 00:27:08

yowwww

pnm2ppa

I needed to install this to get my hp 720c to work, it was driving me nuts for a while but now it works. What baffles me is arch does not have a package for this?
I will try to make one, but I am relatively new at building, so if someone who is more experienced can help out and do one, it would be appreciated.

#2 2004-05-20 01:20:46

dp
Website

Re: pnm2ppa

yowwww wrote:

I needed to install this to get my hp 720c to work, it was driving me nuts for a while but now it works. What baffles me is arch does not have a package for this?
I will try to make one, but I am relatively new at building, so if someone who is more experienced can help out and do one, it would be appreciated.

try and post what you did and where the trouble came :-) there is for sure people around that can help

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

#3 2004-05-20 12:20:54

kpiche
Forum Fellow
Website

Here's what I came up with.  I don't have an HP so who knows if it works...

# Contributor: K. Piche <kpiche@rogers.com>
pkgname=pnm2ppa
pkgver=1.12
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="A Ghostscript filter for legacy HP Deskjet printers."
url="http://pnm2ppa.sourceforge.net/"
source=(http://dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/$pkgname/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('effd8c42bbe7c970e70fa7d9d991275b')

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
  make || return 1
  make BINDIR=$startdir/pkg/usr/bin CONFDIR=$startdir/pkg/etc 
       MANDIR=$startdir/pkg/usr/man/man1 install
}

#4 2004-05-20 23:22:23

yowwww

that seems to work fine, thanks a lot kpiche smile

btw, is there any documentation on how to get better at making packages for arch? Ive read the generic stuff and can make most packages, but there are a lot that require patching and adjusting  of the PKGBUILD file but I haven't seen anything on how to do things.