You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-07 17:10:51

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

When I have a site with flash and/or java open, firefox uses minimum 40% of my CPU power, even when I'm doing nothing, when firefox is idle and waiting for input.


P.S. This could be a recent issue, probably related to the newest version of firefox, however I haven't tried downgrading it because I don't have the old version package in my cache. (cleaned it a while ago)


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#2 2008-04-07 17:14:36

finferflu
Forum Fellow
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 1,899
Website

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

I don't have any real solution for you, but I can tell you that Firefox 3beta5 from the unstable repository is light and fast, and quite stable as well. Definitely worth trying it out.


Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

Offline

#3 2008-04-07 17:15:19

bender02
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Have you tried other browsers? It seems to me it's more likely to be flash issue - these annoying flash ads usually *do* something (like change pictures) even if the user does not do anything.

Offline

#4 2008-04-07 18:01:47

signor_rossi
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 257

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

I second finferflu, I myself am using a Beta4 of Firefox3 from AUR, UI is much more responsive and scrolling is faster too, as are Flash sites, and it crashes only rarely. Besides, don't you all agree that Flash is EVIL and that it is an abomination in every OS? tongue

Bye, signor_rossi.

Offline

#5 2008-04-07 18:23:58

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

this is a flash issue


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#6 2008-04-07 23:30:51

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

It's definitely firefox. I just tried the same web site in opera and it doesn't use up THAT much CPU (it uses about 10 %). Firefox is just crazy nowadays! smile


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#7 2008-04-08 07:34:44

B15HOP
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 138

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

I had the problem in Firefox and Opera. My theory is that flash itself is the problem. So I installed a flash block to get rid of annoying flash adverts. The only way flash will ever speed itself up is if Macromedia decide to hardware accelerate their flash engine. I hate flash anyway... I only use it because I have to.

Just as proof that flash sux, my athlon xp2100+ uses around 40% cpu on a youtube video. If I play the same video with mplayer, it uses 1% cpu...

Last edited by B15HOP (2008-04-08 07:36:35)


"The ecological crisis is a moral issue."

Offline

#8 2008-04-08 07:57:25

signor_rossi
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 257

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

schivmeister wrote:

this is a flash issue

Of course it is, but there isn't much we can do about it, isn't it? Therefore I suggested firefox3, to alleviate things a little (it does it for me). Flash doesn't even work at all for me in Opera, I only get a grey window where the video should be.

Bye, signor_rossi.

Offline

#9 2008-04-08 08:13:50

cookiecaper
Member
Registered: 2007-09-22
Posts: 197

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Firefox cannot do all that much to alleviate the problem. Follow swfdec and Gnash, one day they will suitable replacements.

Offline

#10 2008-04-10 08:42:17

matsche
Member
From: .at
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 120

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

hi,
I had some black pictures (on windows live sites) ;-) on my firefox3 b5. I had to add

Option      "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "1"

in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf ("Device" Section).

Just BTW!

Last edited by matsche (2008-04-10 08:43:04)


THX!!
cu matsche

Offline

#11 2008-04-10 09:00:17

jinn
Member
From: Gothenburg
Registered: 2005-12-10
Posts: 506

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

the problem with firefox 3 is that I cant use all my important addons... so I am stuck with the old one so far.. the one i need most is googlesync.


The ultimate Archlinux release name: "I am your father"

Offline

#12 2008-04-10 16:08:05

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

signor_rossi wrote:
schivmeister wrote:

this is a flash issue

Of course it is, but there isn't much we can do about it, isn't it? Therefore I suggested firefox3, to alleviate things a little (it does it for me). Flash doesn't even work at all for me in Opera, I only get a grey window where the video should be.

Bye, signor_rossi.

The newest version of flash Plugin only works with Opera 9.5 beta. If you want to use flash with the stable Opera find an older version of the flash plug in.


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#13 2008-04-10 17:28:14

signor_rossi
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 257

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Dheart wrote:
signor_rossi wrote:
schivmeister wrote:

this is a flash issue

Of course it is, but there isn't much we can do about it, isn't it? Therefore I suggested firefox3, to alleviate things a little (it does it for me). Flash doesn't even work at all for me in Opera, I only get a grey window where the video should be.

Bye, signor_rossi.

The newest version of flash Plugin only works with Opera 9.5 beta. If you want to use flash with the stable Opera find an older version of the flash plug in.

Thanks for the hint, will keep that in mind in the case I will switch to Opera again (used it for a while because Firefox2 scrolling was bad, with 3 it is much better). Besides, there is a new flash version in the repos.

Bye, signor_rossi.

Offline

#14 2008-04-15 04:09:14

number5
Member
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

@jinn you could use the "nightly tester tools" to disable the addons compatibility check, most addons works perfectly with firefox3

[1] http://www.oxymoronical.com/web/firefox/nightly


simple is good

Offline

#15 2008-04-15 04:35:17

blu3ness
Member
From: Edmonton, Canada
Registered: 2007-12-28
Posts: 169

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

I also find when I'm using compositing or using XGL, flash consumes a lot more CPU power, disabling them is a simple solution you can consider


Archlinux on Compaq Presario v5000 laptop smile

Offline

#16 2008-04-15 11:45:55

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Flash is not hardware accelerated on Linux as far as I know. They were supposed to make video hardware accelerated.

Offline

#17 2008-04-15 14:55:11

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

I've been seeing this with Firefox3 with both Flash and Swfdec on 64 bit. In fact, my numbers are closer to 50% of one core. Before Beta 5 I was seeing numbers up to 90% of one core.

Offline

#18 2008-04-15 22:45:14

Bestiapeluda
Member
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2007-10-16
Posts: 181

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

flash sucks here too

Offline

#19 2008-04-16 08:41:07

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Did you guys fail to notice my post, the one in which I say that opera doesn't eat that much CPU resources ? It could be a flash issue but firefox isn't helping it either.... Also, I've just noticed that firefox generally eats CPU, it goes up to 30% when NOT viewing flash content...firefox 2.0.0.13 sucks form me here in arch, but it is working fine on my winxp (am posting from it right now).


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#20 2008-04-16 08:55:34

finferflu
Forum Fellow
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 1,899
Website

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Did you try Firefox 3? Firefox 2 is known to be a resource hog on Linux. I had switched to Opera because of that, but thanks to Firefox 3 I have been able to switch back.


Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

Offline

#21 2008-04-16 09:40:13

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Am trying firefox 3 right now and so far it doesn't seem to be a lot faster for me....maybe there is something wrong with my setup ?


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#22 2008-04-16 18:00:45

sfbi
Member
From: Bergen
Registered: 2008-03-13
Posts: 36

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

Perhaps you can try an extension of firefox, namely, flashblock, which blocks all flashes by default, and if you want to play some of them, just click a button in the middle. You'll never suffer from flashes with this.

However, the issue of a good flashplugin remains.

Last edited by sfbi (2008-04-16 18:01:19)

Offline

#23 2008-04-20 19:43:01

xnooby2
Member
Registered: 2007-07-15
Posts: 104

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

I installed Firefox's "Down Load Helper" add-on to download flash videos, then I watch them with VLC.  Works great, and one less proprietary plugin to deal with.

Offline

#24 2008-04-20 23:01:37

_alexmyself
Member
From: france
Registered: 2005-09-18
Posts: 89

Re: Firefox uses too much CPU when displaying flash sites

kde, xf86-video-ati, and ff is slow since near 1/2 months.
flash is the most visible part, but i've been on pages with just javascript animation (like image zooming pixel by pixel) and the comparison with opera or konqueror is not possible, those are really, really faster..so, for me at least, it's not just flash, it's global rendering.
maybe it's related with video driver or, i don't really know how all this works, with something like cairo or another part of the chain..
not video driver, i have no problem with everything else than ff, at least with everything i'm used to use..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB