You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-19 19:33:36

KSiimson

Make SLiM set wallpaper

I am not sure how this happened, but on my other laptop SLiM sets the wallpaper for Openbox. On my new laptop, SLiM gets loaded from inittab, and once I am logged in, SLiM's wallpaper gets lost. Probably an easy problem, so hopefully I find out how to make my new laptop behave the same soon. big_smile

#2 2008-04-19 20:14:23

HyperBaton

Re: Make SLiM set wallpaper

I'm no expert in login managers etc., but why would the SLiM background be kept after logging in? It's a login manager after all. I use SLiM and Gnome, after I log in with SLiM, Gnome displays the background I want.

#3 2008-04-19 21:22:28

thayer
Fellow
Website

It isn't that slim set your background on your old laptop; it's because your old laptop must not have used any utilities to manage the desktop, so what happened is that the slim background got 'stuck' on your desktop because nothing else refreshed it.  My guess is that your new setup is running gnome-settings-daemon, or some other desktop utility which is now refreshing the desktop as soon as you log in.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by thayer (2008-04-19 21:24:41)

thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

#4 2008-04-19 21:28:27

Tenken

SLiM doesn't actually set your background, I think that the images just stays in the background unless you over ride it. I don't know if it does this on my openbox setup because I use another program to set my wallpaper, but when I was playing around with awesome the desktop kept SLiM's background. Maybe a newer version of SLiM or openbox changed this behavior.

#5 2008-04-19 21:34:41

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Website

Nor SLiM or Openbox set your background smile. So get a utility to set one and the problem should disappear.

Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

#6 2008-04-20 00:20:41

theringmaster
Website

I think feh sets backgrounds, correct?