You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-20 23:14:17

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

==> ERROR: Build Failed.

This happened when I tried to compile koverartist. It also happended with 2 other programs. Why did this happen? Is it a mistake in the PKGBUILD, or something I did wrong? Is there anything I can do?

Using 64 bit if it matters.

/opt/qt/include/qlistbox.h: In member function 'int QListBox::cellWidth(int) const':
/opt/qt/include/qlistbox.h:192: warning: conversion to 'int' from 'long int' may alter its value
cddbquery.cpp: In constructor 'CddbQuery::CddbQuery(QWidget*)':
cddbquery.cpp:57: error: 'getenv' was not declared in this scope
cddbquery.cpp: In member function 'bool CddbQuery::fromUrl(const KURL&)':
cddbquery.cpp:390: warning: conversion to 'int' from 'Q_LONG' may alter its value
cddbquery.cpp: In member function 'virtual bool CddbQuery::localCddbLookup()':
cddbquery.cpp:479: warning: conversion to 'int' from 'size_t' may alter its value
make[3]: *** [cddbquery.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/duncan/Desktop/kover/src/koverartist/src'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/duncan/Desktop/kover/src/koverartist/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/duncan/Desktop/kover/src/koverartist'
make: *** [all] Error 2
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...
[duncan@myhost kover]$

Last edited by Raccoon1400 (2008-04-20 23:16:05)


Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

#2 2008-04-21 00:02:11

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

That looks like a problem with the new gcc 4.3. They've cleaned some header dependencies. So probably those progs that didn't compile have a missing #include <something> on the top. In the case above, it's probably #include <stdlib.h>

EDIT: What you can do is:
1) if you really need the prog right away, just fix the sources yourself
2) file a bug with the program author/maintainer to let him know that it doesn't compile with gcc 4.3

Last edited by bender02 (2008-04-21 00:03:40)

Offline

#3 2008-04-21 00:18:17

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

Is there a specific file in the source to edit?


Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

#4 2008-04-21 00:28:31

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

Based on your error, I'd assume you'd want to edit cddbquery.cpp

Offline

#5 2008-04-21 01:33:31

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

That doesn't seem to work. I edit the file, compile, and it fails, and the cddbquery.cpp file reverts to original.
It might have to do with 'gentev' in the error message.

cddbquery.cpp:57: error: 'getenv' was not declared in this scope


Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

#6 2008-04-21 04:11:13

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

You need to run makepkg as 'makepkg -e' (see man makepkg). Without that makepkg deletes src dir and extracts all the sources again, effectively deleting any changes you've made to the sources.

Offline

#7 2008-04-21 07:34:29

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

This is C++, so the right line would be

#include <cstdlib>

Offline

#8 2008-04-21 09:58:57

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

Offline

#9 2008-04-21 22:03:22

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

Thanks brain0! That actually worked. The reason the changes kept disappearing was I edited the already extracted version, not the tarball.
How do I tell what line to add to other cases? The same happened to 2 other packages?

Last edited by Raccoon1400 (2008-04-21 22:03:39)


Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

#10 2008-04-22 17:06:00

orion91
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2007-03-23
Posts: 14
Website

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

I've same problem, when i build a package with yaourt or makepkg recive the message "ERROR: Build Failed".
I've arch i686 version no t arch 64 and not use testing packages..

Some idea?

Offline

#11 2008-04-22 21:08:24

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

orion91 - the actual build error appears before that, as with Raccoon1400's post at the top of this thread. That's the one people need to see if they want to help you.

Offline

#12 2008-04-22 21:50:31

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

n/include engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp
engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp: In function 'int AStarAddNode(int, int, int, int)':
engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp:420: error: 'abs' was not declared in this scope
engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp: In function 'int AStarFindSimplePath(int, int, int, int, int, int, int, int, int, int, char*, int, void*)':
engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp:789: error: 'abs' was not declared in this scope
engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp: In function 'int AStarFindPath(int, int, int, int, int, int, int, int, int, int, char*, int, void*)':
engine/pathfinder/astar.cpp:884: error: 'abs' was not declared in this scope
scons: *** [build/release/pathfinder/astar.o] Error 1
scons: building terminated because of errors.
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...
[duncan@myhost boswars-2.5-src]$

This one also failed. What line can i add here?


Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

#13 2008-04-23 00:30:10

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

It's again cstdlib. You can find it out by typing 'man 3 abs' - it tells you in which header file is the function defined.

Offline

#14 2008-04-25 20:51:18

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

Re: ==> ERROR: Build Failed.

that takes me to this, where that line doesn't work.

In file included from engine/stratagus/stratagus.cpp:202:
engine/include/results.h:43: warning: 'typedef' was ignored in this declaration
engine/stratagus/stratagus.cpp: In function 'void StartMap(const std::string&, bool)':
engine/stratagus/stratagus.cpp:411: error: no matching function for call to 'find(__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<gcn::Container**, std::vector<gcn::Container*, std::allocator<gcn::Container*> > >, __gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<gcn::Container**, std::vector<gcn::Container*, std::allocator<gcn::Container*> > >, gcn::Container*&)'
scons: *** [build/release/stratagus/stratagus.o] Error 1
scons: building terminated because of errors.
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...
[duncan@myhost boswars-2.5-src]$

Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB