You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-21 00:35:14

snafle
Member
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 41

Boot from Software RAID

I need help setting this up. My main aim is to get a RAID5'd /home directory, however having the rest of the stuff on the Raid would be convenient. I've followed arch wiki guide but I just get this error when trying to boot:

IP-Config: No devices to configure
Waiting 0 s before mounting root device...
ReiserFS: md0: warning: sh-2006: read_super_block: bread failed (dev md0, block 2, size 4096)
ReiserFS: md0: warning: sh-2006: read_super_block: bread failed (dev md0, block 2, size 4096)
kinit: Unable to mount root fs on device md0(9,0)
kinit: init not found!
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

I've followed the guide on the wiki several times. I've also defected to the gentoo wiki but no hope.

I've tried to reboot with the CD and mount md0 (and 1, 2, 3) but it won't, it tells me to specify a file system. I can't access my grub loader but it looks precisely like the one on the wiki.

Could the problem be that I'm using sata discs? I'm pretty tired of trying things now, I'll go to bed and hope some kind soul will extract me from my non-parity hell.

Offline

#2 2008-04-21 04:04:41

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Boot from Software RAID

My use of mdadm to set up raid0 required that I utilize the command.....mkfs -t ext3 /dev/md0...after the --assemble  of the /dev/md0.  My devices are IDE UDMA compatible Compact Flash devices.

I am not aware of the nomenclature utilized for SATA devices but perhaps /dev/md0 suggests a HDD assemblage.
It responds to hdparm...an HDD process.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2008-04-21 09:42:30

snafle
Member
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 41

Re: Boot from Software RAID

Is it strange that after the Kernel panic, if I reboot into a live cd and try to mount /dev/mdx it doesn't work? And that I can't mkreiserfs on it?

The machine actually started after my install this time, but it's just gone back to it's recidivist ways now. As far as I can tell, after a reboot the RAID is no created properly. I setup mdadm.conf, mkinitcpio and grub all as the wiki.

Can someone post exemplars for what I need to have in these files? My arrays are arranged thusly:

md0 is root, raid = 5, discs = /dev/sda3 to /dev/sdd3
md1 is swap, raid = 0, discs = /dev/sda2 to /dev/sdd2
md2 is boot, raid = 1, discs = /dev/sda1 to /dev/sdd1
md3 is home (LVM), raid = 1, discs = /dev/sda4 to /dev/sdd4

It is possible to install on another hardrive and just mount the raid as a directory but I'd need another disc for that sad

Also, this should possibly go in the Newbie section because it's probably really simple :embarrased:

Offline

#4 2008-04-21 11:05:14

Issh
Member
Registered: 2007-12-02
Posts: 58

Re: Boot from Software RAID

I have this setup on my server in software raid, and it was a right pain.

I mostley followed the Gentoo wiki as it worked more so than following the arch wiki.

I think the problem is the grub config, This is what my kernel line looks like

kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/md3 ro md=3,/dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3 md=1,/dev/sda1,/dev/sdb1 md=4,/dev/sda4,/dev/sdb4

Offline

#5 2008-04-21 18:36:27

snafle
Member
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 41

Re: Boot from Software RAID

I'm going to give up on this for the time being.

Just a query, should I put md=3,/dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3 md=1,/dev/sda1,/dev/sdb1 md=4,/dev/sda4,/dev/sdb4 into the mkinitcpio file as well? It says so in the wiki but I'm not sure.

Last edited by snafle (2008-04-21 19:32:57)

Offline

#6 2008-04-21 21:14:05

vogt
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2006-11-25
Posts: 389

Re: Boot from Software RAID

put that kind of line in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf, and don't forget to make a new image (with the raid hook too) with:

mkinitcpio -p kernel26

Offline

#7 2008-04-22 13:59:33

snafle
Member
Registered: 2008-04-08
Posts: 41

Re: Boot from Software RAID

I tried that, in the live CD but it says it can't find command.
It's just occured to me I should chroot into /mnt to run that command- is this correct?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB