You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-26 19:07:29

atif63
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 11

Souncard on gateway e-3200

Really want to use arch on 8 donated gateway e-3200 pc's, to set up an internet cafe for senior citizens.
They're pII 300 - 450 deschutes, with 128 mb of memory.
Installation went smoothly, everything works -running kde 3.2.2- except for sound.
Soundcard is cs4236, modprobe returns module not found. There is a snd-cs4236.ko in  modules directory.
Tried all different alsa configuration, no luck.
Ran a knoppix 3.3 disk, and it configured sound with ad1848 module and it works.
But there is no configuration information in modules.conf.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

:shock:


HeTePu

Offline

#2 2004-05-27 06:57:18

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Souncard on gateway e-3200

what kernel are you using....?

if 2.4 then check if soundcore is loaded

2.6 well follow Wiki guide...

HTH

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-05-27 14:13:32

atif63
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 11

Re: Souncard on gateway e-3200

I'm using 2.6.
Where can i find the Wiki guide.

:?:


HeTePu

Offline

#4 2004-05-27 14:14:25

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Souncard on gateway e-3200

Top of this page on right there is a button marked php wiki

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Alsa%20setup


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-05-27 14:17:58

atif63
Member
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 11

Re: Souncard on gateway e-3200

Found it  and will read through it. Didn't know it was a help system.
thanks.

Followed Instructions, but i'm getting this error

"modprobe: FATAL: Error inserting snd_cs4236 (/lib/modules/2.6.6/kernel/sound/isa/cs423x/snd-cs4236.ko) : No such device"

Does this mean i have to recompile the kernel.

I alsao tried "alsaconf", it returns "no legacy cards found".

I tried another set of instructions that placed "snd-mixer-oss snd-seq-oss snd-pcm-oss" in the modules array in /etc/rc.conf. Now when i "lsmod" or "cat /proc/modules" i can see the soundcards modules, but there seems to be no mixer to set any volume.
"/dev/snd" has "controlC0 and timer"
"/dev/sound" is empty

"alsamixer" returns "snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device"
"amixer set MASTER 100 unmute" returns "No such device"
"amixer set PCM 100 unmute" returns "No such device"

Going to try all those options to be placed in "/etc/devfsd.conf"

:shock:


HeTePu

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB