You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-28 08:50:32

BluntBox

Openbox, startx vs xinit.

Hello all.

I'm pretty new to Arch, but so far have everything working great and love it! Simple question though, what is the difference between using startx and xinit *whatever?

Right now I have OpenBox installed and working fine, which I can start via "startx" or "xinit openbox-session". The difference is that "startx" takes about 20 seconds to get to a working desktop, while "xinit openbox-session" takes about 3 seconds.

Is there a reason to use startx instead of xinit? Is the extra time artificial or is it actually doing extra things? (My understanding of startx is that it just looks for .xinitrc which then triggers xinit with the appropriate parameter)

Last edited by BluntBox (2008-04-28 09:04:51)

#2 2008-04-28 14:50:42

thayer
Fellow
Website

Re: Openbox, startx vs xinit.

BluntBox wrote:

(My understanding of startx is that it just looks for .xinitrc which then triggers xinit with the appropriate parameter)

I *think* that's about the gist of it...except that the .xinitrc file usually contains more than just the window manager execution (e.g. exec openbox-session).  For example, a lot of users place all their extra startup utilities into the .xinitrc as well, such as conky, nitrogen, gajim, etc.  Is there any chance that your .xinitrc contains extra lines of info that could be hanging things up a bit?

thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

#3 2008-04-29 00:30:46

BluntBox

My .xinitrc file only has the 1 line, "exec openbox-session". Surely it doesn't take 10-15 seconds for startx to find and open that file. Anyway it doesn't really matter, xinit works fine as far as I can tell so I will continue using it. Just found this rather odd.

#4 2008-04-29 01:52:46

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus