You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-04 05:01:22

chris_ak

Loyalty to Awesome WM

I'm thinking of switching to awesome from openbox.  I installed the git package from AUR and I'm definitely impressed, but it looks like it will take a bit of work to get it the way I like it.  So I'm curious to hear from awesome users.  Is awesome really a WM people stick with?  What are the advantages (aside from the tiling function)?  Also, please post a screenshot and your awesomerc and any addons if you have the time.  Thanks!

#2 2008-05-04 16:39:18

phabulosa
Website

Re: Loyalty to Awesome WM

I am a new adopter of Awesome WM. So far, I like it very much.
Tiling should be the key reason you choose awesome, if you don't want tiling, why choose awesome?

Compared to other tiling WMs, awesome does not have any killer features.

However, its configuration is very easy to understand (giving my situation, I am not a programmer and I don't want to learn lua to use ion3, or haskell to use xmonad).
As long as you have some basic shell script skills, you can make awesome fly in no time.

I have not spent enough time on xmonad or ion3. So, no comparison with those two.
I used dwm and wmii from suckless.org for a while and both of them have its on merits.
One unique thing about awesome is that it built many good widgets in it already. If you use other Tiling WMs, you may have to use together with dzen and dmenu.
Awsome also meets some of my special needs, such as out-of-box dual monitor support, more flexibility in terms of "styles" (different fonts, colors in different places ...)

DWM and Wmii seems to keep its elitist flavor and don't bring in exciting new features quite often which Awesome is evolving every day.

The coming Awesome 3 is rewritten to use xcb instead of xlib. I gave it a try already and everything does feel snappier.

#3 2008-05-04 17:48:17

venox
Website

I tried awesome. I really liked it, but it's not extensible enough for me. That's what I like on dwm and xmonad.