You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-27 23:26:13

~slice

Terminal set as background?

Ok so I have been running arch for about 6 months or so using kdemod. I just switched to kde vanilla and it don't look so pretty so I am on a mission to customize. First off I would like to set it up to take everything my computer does in the background and make that visible as a big terminal and set that as my background. I don't know if this is possible but I have seen some screenshots were that's what it looked like. Also any other tips for making sleek looking desktop. Thanks.

There are 10 types of peaple in the world. Those who know binary and those that don't.

#2 2008-05-28 02:33:19

mcmillan

Re: Terminal set as background?

Not sure if it's what you have in mind but I used to start on transparent console pinned to all desktops which might be what you've seen.

Since you use KDE, you can start a transparent konsole with the command "konsole --schema Transparent.schema" There's also Transparent_darkbg and Transparent_lightbg that use different colored fonts that might show up better. You'll also want to set it to have the the window decoration removed and probably skip the task manager and pager as well.

It looks kind of cool, but once the novelty wore off I found having a dropdown console like yakuake to be more useful.

#3 2008-05-28 06:53:18

hennes

Alternatively you could use devilspie to achieve this.

#4 2008-05-28 07:48:20

~slice

Thanks I'll experiment with those. I am not looking for it to be interactive only an output of whats going on in the background.

There are 10 types of peaple in the world. Those who know binary and those that don't.

#5 2008-05-28 09:56:05

droog

maybe your thinking of root-tail?

heres a bad screenshot of it from the root-tail website
http://www.goof.com/pcg/marc/images/root-tail.jpg

Last edited by droog (2008-05-28 09:58:04)

#6 2008-05-28 10:37:12

sm4tik
Website

droog wrote:

maybe your thinking of root-tail?