You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-27 23:46:13

vsk

Installation Difficulties: I'm stuck in configure system!

Hello all!

I am a new Arch (soon-to-be) user, and I have been using Ubuntu Linux for about 11 months.

I downloaded the 30mb Arch FTP CD, and booted into it.

Everything was working, until I got to Configure System.
When I selected /etc/rc.conf as the first file I wanted to edit, nano opened it up - and it was empty.

Every other file I selected from the Configure Systems menu was empty.
I used hwdetect, and accpeted all of the DEFAULTS - (well, they were what I wanted anyway) - but none of the files had any text in them whatsoever.

So I cd into /etc and I find a (sample?) rc.conf, but it filled out the networking part incorrectly (easy to fix, dhcp issue) and it didn't have any of the modules section filled out (although the daemons section was). I think that this was a different file - doesn't /arch/setup load /mnt/etc/rc.conf or something??

I don't know all of the kernel modules I need though... Is it OK if I leave it as MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes" and forget about it?
I've already formatted my HDD for Arch (I do have backups), but I really don't want to go back to Ubuntu.

Besides rc.conf, my fstab and everything else is completely blank, and I have very little examples or ideas about how to get it working.

All of you guys are Arch users, so I was really hoping that you could tell me how you got your system working. It would be awesome if someone could tell me where I can find examples of the following;

/etc/rc.conf
/boot/grub/menu.lst
/etc/hosts
/etc/fstab
/etc/modprobe.conf
/etc/modules.conf
/etc/resolv.conf
/etc/profile
/etc/rc.local

Hey, thanks so much!!

#2 2008-05-28 00:14:59

vsk

Re: Installation Difficulties: I'm stuck in configure system!

Well, I've found the beginner's guide (took a minute to do so though) - and I've got some good examples of the files I need.
I only have 3 questions;

1. Can you use resierFS on /?