You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-31 16:26:00

violagirl23
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 184

lm_sensors has strange output

I followed the wiki and ran sensors-detect and pressed yes to everything, and all seemed to be well. However, when I run sensors, I get the following output and can't make heads or tails of it:

sensors
thinkpad-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
fan1: 2931 RPM
temp1: +50.0°C
temp2: +38.0°C
temp3: +32.0°C
temp4: +53.0°C
temp5: +24.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp6_input: Can't read
temp6: +0.0°C
temp7: +23.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp8_input: Can't read
temp8: +0.0°C
temp9: +35.0°C
temp10: +41.0°C
temp11: +42.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp12_input: Can't read
temp12: +0.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp13_input: Can't read
temp13: +0.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp14_input: Can't read
temp14: +0.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp15_input: Can't read
temp15: +0.0°C
ERROR: Can't get value of subfeature temp16_input: Can't read
temp16: +0.0°C

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0: +38.0°C (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0001
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 1: +38.0°C (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

I can't even find my CPU temp in there or anything, it just says temp1, temp2, etc. What does that even mean? And what is the meaning of all these error messages? This looks nothing like on the wiki:

lm85-i2c-0-2e
Adapter: SMBus I801 adapter at c800
V1.5:       +1.47 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +3.32 V)
VCore:      +1.34 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.99 V)
V3.3:       +3.32 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.38 V)
V5:        +5.05 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +6.64 V)
V12:      +11.94 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max = +15.94 V)
CPU_Fan:   1760 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan2:         0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan3:         0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan4:         0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
CPU Temp:    +51°C  (low  =  -127°C, high =  +127°C)
Board Temp:
             +46°C  (low  =  -127°C, high =  +127°C)
Remote Temp:
             +45°C  (low  =  -127°C, high =  +127°C)
CPU_PWM:    77
Fan2_PWM:   87
Fan3_PWM:   87
vid:      +1.088 V  (VRM Version 10.0)

What could I have done wrong? hmm


"You can't just ask to borrow somebody else's lampshade. It's AWKWARD!"

Offline

#2 2008-05-31 16:38:55

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,120

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

If you're using a thinkpad this post might prove interesting.  http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_with_lm-sensors
I use an old T21 thinkpad and just use the thinkpad-acpi for my temp indication with conky and E17 temp module.


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

#3 2008-05-31 16:49:23

violagirl23
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 184

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

O_O I certainly hope I haven't broken my laptop now. I wonder how long till I find out.....
Oh dear.


"You can't just ask to borrow somebody else's lampshade. It's AWKWARD!"

Offline

#4 2008-05-31 16:55:59

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,120

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

I doubt you broke anything. smile  The post mentions something about the errors being caused by protecting the eeprom.  Thinkwiki.org is an excellent resource for thinkpad owners though.  Sometimes you  have to sift through alot of stuff to get a good answer.


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

#5 2008-05-31 16:59:04

violagirl23
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 184

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

I loaded the thinkpad-acpi module... now is there a command I could use to check the cpu temp? th<tab> brings up nothing insightful.
Also, I tried to uninstall lm_sensors, but it says kdebase depends on it. Is there a way to ensure it won't be utilized in any way, as I don't want it running and lousing things up?

Last edited by violagirl23 (2008-05-31 17:10:37)


"You can't just ask to borrow somebody else's lampshade. It's AWKWARD!"

Offline

#6 2008-05-31 17:19:10

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,120

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

Depending on what dm, wm you use you should be able to get a temp reading using their flavour of system monitor.  In E17 there is a module that registers the acpi temp reading.  Conky can show your temp by adding a $acpitemp line in the .conkyrc.  I just tried

cat /proc/acpi/ibm/thermal

and it spits out some numbers but the first number, AFAIK, is the cpu temp.

Edit: spelling

Last edited by bgc1954 (2008-05-31 17:20:24)


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

#7 2008-05-31 17:43:25

violagirl23
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 184

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

All right, I forced the uninstall of lm_sensors (though pacman keeps whining about it to me now everytime I install something) and the applet computertermp for GNOME seems to work and doesn't need lm_sensors. The better GNOME applet for checking all hardware seems to require lm_sensors, though. hmm I wasn't sure if I should select ACPI or IBM ACPI, as the laptop is techincally a Lenovo Thinkpad, but both seem to work identically. *shrug*
As for my wm, I'm actually currently using BOTH Gnome and KDE. I want to see which I like better, and then I'll uninstall one of them.


"You can't just ask to borrow somebody else's lampshade. It's AWKWARD!"

Offline

#8 2008-05-31 17:50:04

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,120

Re: lm_sensors has strange output

You might have been able to keep lm_sensors and just bang it out ! in MODULES line of /etc/rc.conf to blacklist it from loading--not sure if that would actually work though.  Or you might just delete /etc/rc.d/sensors but that might cause some kind of error message.  Food for thought.  See also: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=35151

Last edited by bgc1954 (2008-06-01 15:41:49)


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB