You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-10 03:58:47

czechman86
Website

Question about PHP

I am completely new to programming and have enjoyed Linux so much, that I would like to go into PHP next. Currently I am a University student with a dead end major (Russian Studies). I am looking to get a certificate in PHP over the course of this next year and to find a little better job with it than I could get with my current degree. I would do a Google search for this, however, I have come to like Arch and the community that surrounds it and wanted to know if any you fine web programmers out there, had any suggestions for free online courses in PHP or book that could be purchased. I was also wondering what a good PHP certification exam to take would be. I have seen the Zend exam and was considering doing a test prep for this after I learn a little more about PHP and SQL. Thank you for your help and suggestions!

Мой адрес не дом и не улица Мой адрес Советский Союз

#2 2008-06-10 23:32:55

slide_rule

Re: Question about PHP

I would (and did) start by reading through the manual at php.net.  It's very well written, and users have commented on various sections, which can help to clarify certain issues, or provide interesting examples.  Definitely get a LAMP (Linux Apache MySQL PHP) running on your box, so you can try out examples and tutorials.

#3 2008-06-11 02:32:54

Berticus

A little clarification, PHP is scripting, not programming.  I know in the grand scheme of things it doesn't really matter all that much, but taxonomy of coding, in general, for some odd reason is a pet peeve of mine.  So not only distinguishing between scripting, programming, and Java, but high, middle, and low level language taxonomy as well...  It's odd, I know.