You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-11 05:28:52

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

I've tried everything from the wiki to get this to work, along with alsaconf, but no such luck. KMix recognizes the card as "HDA Intel"; apparently the chip is a Realtek ALC262. I'm more or less at a loss: configuring my desktop was a snap.

Command output:

[harry@arch-top ~]$ uname -r
2.6.25-ARCH

[harry@arch-top ~]$ lspci -vv|grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

[harry@arch-top ~]$ lsmod|grep snd
snd_hda_intel         336440  1
snd_seq_oss            30336  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6656  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48432  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          6796  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_hwdep               7428  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm_oss            38656  0
snd_pcm                68228  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer              19848  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          8072  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_mixer_oss          14848  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd                    46628  11 snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mixer_oss
soundcore               6496  1 snd

[harry@arch-top ~]$ ls -l /dev/snd/
total 0
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 10 2008-06-11 00:54 controlC0
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  9 2008-06-11 00:54 hwC0D0
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  8 2008-06-11 00:54 hwC0D1
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  7 2008-06-11 00:54 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  6 2008-06-11 01:03 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  5 2008-06-11 00:54 pcmC0D6c
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  4 2008-06-11 00:54 pcmC0D6p
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  3 2008-06-11 00:52 seq
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  2 2008-06-11 00:52 timer

Harry

EDIT: Oooops, forgot to mention that I'm on a Toshiba Tecra S4.

Last edited by cautha (2008-06-19 17:48:52)

Offline

#2 2008-06-11 06:11:14

Shadowmeph
Member
From: West Coast Canada
Registered: 2008-05-19
Posts: 208

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

if you can't get it to work you might have to do what I did , my sound card doesn't work with the standard ( I think its called alsa) driver I had to use OSS which you could ask about here http://4front-tech.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=3

Offline

#3 2008-06-11 06:48:59

Square
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 429

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

I know this may sound... well, novice, but I ran into a similar problem before.
The solution was simply to make sure that the user account I was under was included in the user group "audio," and then restart the system.

Last edited by Square (2008-06-11 06:51:01)


 

Offline

#4 2008-06-11 20:18:09

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

Yep, I'm in the "audio" group. We all make mistakes though tongue

I guess I'll give OSS a try and report back.

Harry

Offline

#5 2008-06-11 20:51:48

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

Okay... blacklisted sound-core in my modules array, but I still get this when I try to start oss-linux-free:

[root@arch-top ~]# /etc/rc.d/oss-linux-free start
:: Starting OSS/Open source driver                                       [BUSY] Relinking OSS kernel modules for "2.6.25-ARCH SMP preempt mod_unload 686 "
This may take few moments - please stand by...
Relinking OSS kernel modules finished
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_hda_intel is in use
ERROR: Module snd_hwdep is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_pcm is in use by snd_hda_intel
ERROR: Module snd_timer is in use by snd_pcm
ERROR: Module snd_page_alloc is in use by snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
Failed to disable conflicting sound drivers
Reboot and try running soundon again

Also check that you have not compiled sound support statically
into the kernel.
                                                                         [FAIL]

Will another reboot actually fix anything, or do I need to remove more modules before I continue?

Harry

Offline

#6 2008-06-11 21:00:31

funnypanks
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 6

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

i had the exact same problem (installed arch for the first time yesterday)
i did a bunch of things and in the end im not sure which fixed it but try these 2
1) as su run
#/etc/rc.d/alsa start
2) edit  /etc/rc.conf
and add alsa to daemons



one of the above fixed it for me. i also ran #alsaconf after installing alsa-utils

Offline

#7 2008-06-11 22:30:06

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

Tried that already sad Thanks, though. This is the first time I've asked for help on here and actually gotten it, so I appreciate it very much cool

I got OSS to work, though I still have a few questions. What's a good GUI mixer for OSS? ossxmix doesn't make very good use of screen space, and I'm on a laptop at 1024x768 (running KDEmod).

Is there a way to get KMix to work? If I can't use it, how do I get rid of it?

Harry

Offline

#8 2008-06-12 00:14:36

Shadowmeph
Member
From: West Coast Canada
Registered: 2008-05-19
Posts: 208

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

you don't need to have ossxmix on all the time at least I don't run it unless I want to turn my volume down . after I finish with what ever adjustment I just turn it off again

Offline

#9 2008-06-12 15:42:36

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

I just had a thought.

What about Pulseaudio? Is it difficult to set up? The reason I ask is because although sound does work on the laptop -- and I tweaked some settings to get sound in more programs -- it still doesn't appear to be universal. I'm testing out "emesene", for example, and I don't get any kind of noise when someone sends me a message.

(I'm very indecisive, as you can see.) big_smile

Harry

Offline

#10 2008-06-13 08:52:41

shazeal
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2007-06-05
Posts: 341

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

For the alsa problems, make sure alsaconf didnt put any crap in /etc/modprobe.conf if it did delete it without doing proper aliases for the modules it wont work im pretty sure. Better to just use hwdetect --modules.

For OSS4, does kmix support gstreamer plugins at all? They support OSS4, otherwise I think you can turn off vmix and that should allow kmix to control the hardware directly (correct me if Im wrong Ive never used KDE for more than a few minutes roll)

Offline

#11 2008-06-13 08:59:30

shazeal
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2007-06-05
Posts: 341

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

cautha wrote:

I just had a thought.

What about Pulseaudio? Is it difficult to set up? The reason I ask is because although sound does work on the laptop -- and I tweaked some settings to get sound in more programs -- it still doesn't appear to be universal. I'm testing out "emesene", for example, and I don't get any kind of noise when someone sends me a message.

(I'm very indecisive, as you can see.) big_smile

Harry

Pulseaudio is probably the most confusing thing known to man, your mileage may vary but I found it about as easy as installing Gentoo for the first time, thats the only comparison I can think of tongue

Offline

#12 2008-06-13 19:06:47

floke
Member
Registered: 2007-09-04
Posts: 266

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

Try adding this to etc/modprobe.conf

options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=0 model=basic

Good luck!

Offline

#13 2008-06-14 03:55:03

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

shazeal wrote:
cautha wrote:

I just had a thought.

What about Pulseaudio? Is it difficult to set up? The reason I ask is because although sound does work on the laptop -- and I tweaked some settings to get sound in more programs -- it still doesn't appear to be universal. I'm testing out "emesene", for example, and I don't get any kind of noise when someone sends me a message.

(I'm very indecisive, as you can see.) big_smile

Harry

Pulseaudio is probably the most confusing thing known to man, your mileage may vary but I found it about as easy as installing Gentoo for the first time, thats the only comparison I can think of tongue

In that case, I'll pass tongue Sounds like something for a lazy Sunday afternoon, the kind I won't be having for a while yet.

Quick question... I've used hwdetect before. Should every one of the modules it spits out be in my rc.conf? There are quite a few:

MODULES=(ac battery bay button container dock processor thermal video cdrom agpgart intel-agp intel-rng lp ppdev firewire-core firewire-ohci evdev joydev pcspkr psmouse serio_raw mmc_core sdhci parport parport_pc pci_hotplug shpchp rtc-cmos rtc-core rtc-lib output crc-itu-t snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd snd-hda-intel soundcore pata_acpi ata_generic scsi_mod ahci ata_piix e1000e ppp_generic slhc mac80211 iwl3945 cfg80211 pcmcia_core rsrc_nonstatic yenta_socket usbcore ehci-hcd uhci-hcd firewire-core firewire-ohci ieee1394 ohci1394 sd_mod sr_mod)

Harry

Offline

#14 2008-06-14 04:12:38

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

floke wrote:

Try adding this to etc/modprobe.conf

options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=0 model=basic

Good luck!

Your solution did the trick. Thanks a ton! I'll mark this is solved when shaz (or someone else?) gets back to me about the hwdetect business.

Harry

Offline

#15 2008-06-15 03:11:31

shazeal
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2007-06-05
Posts: 341

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

Hwdetect just looks at your hardware and finds any modules associated with it. Its the same deal as udev except udev can be buggy on occasion for instance my machine udev loads my sound drivers fine, where as my girlfriends machine wont load the sound drivers but detects everything else fine.
If there is a module dectected you know you dont want loaded just stick an ! infront of it.
That list of modules looks fine for a laptop though.

Offline

#16 2008-06-15 03:19:03

cautha
Member
From: Kingston, Ontario
Registered: 2008-06-02
Posts: 115
Website

Re: No sound, Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA Controller (Solved)

K, because right now my modules array looks like this:

MODULES=(e1000 slhc iwl3945 snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd snd-hda-intel soundcore)

Harry

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB