You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-16 18:42:16

COMMUNISTCHINA
Website

Before switching... questions

I've been using Linux for a few years now; I am comfortable at the command line, but I don't know a lot of the inner workings of Linux. I have been reading about Arch for a few months, and I think I'm ready to switch, but I have some questions:

1) When installing, do I have to install a desktop environment, or can I just get a window manager? If I can just get a window manager, there's no programs included, right?

The window manager I'd like to use is awesome with the amazing widgets or status bar, or whatever. (:cool:)
I'm trying to cut bloat and just get the programs I want, which is why I ask about needing to install a DE. With awesome, is there a menu when you right-click on the desktop (like with TWM)?  I know a lot of it will just be tinkering around until I figure it out... I'd like to know more about awesome, but most screenshots are just people with 10 terminals open, all with code. (Yeah, yeah, I know some programming languages, too).

If I use any DE, it will be XFCE, but I don't think I can mount the Windows partition through it.

2) Is all updating/adding/removing done through pacman? Is there an Add/Remove Software option with GUI? (the terminal command is "pirut" in Fedora 8).  Is it all in a convenient menu, or do I need to go to the AUR everytime I want a new program?

Other than these two questions, I think I might be all set. I won't be installing Arch until August, so I still have time to ask more questions. wink

i don't know you that well.

#2 2008-06-16 18:45:58

Stythys
Website

Re: Before switching... questions

1) Arch doesn't have a default DE or WM, so yes you can get just a window manager.