You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-19 10:56:58

rexcze
Member
Registered: 2007-05-12
Posts: 54

KDE4 destop effects not working

Hi, I have latest arch with kde4 and ati xorg prop. driver up and running fine, but if I  Enable desktop effects in System settings my screen get white (whiten ??) and nothing is vissible. Even if I disable all effects in All effects tab...
It doesnt return me any error warning or something, just white screen (sometimes with one black window)

Anyone know What Iam doing bad?

Offline

#2 2008-08-01 15:41:21

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,595
Website

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

I have been working for hours in two if my systems where it does not work, but I cannot see why.
In my main system it does work. All the visual effects work just fine including transparency but in the others with the **exact** same settings it does not work.
In my laptop it did make an "attempt" at running but all of the sudden the screen went all black and I had to do a hard reset to get the screen back... and of course it is not working.

I wonder if we need some plug ins or something.

R.

Last edited by ralvez (2008-08-01 15:42:00)

Offline

#3 2008-08-01 19:33:43

piege
Member
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 11

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

+1 on this problem ... it seems to happen when I choose openGL rendering ... but on Xrender I only get the basic stuff working (ie no explosion or wobbly)... I was wondering if switching to compiz-fusion would be worthwile...

Anyone can telll be if this is a good idea?

Offline

#4 2008-08-02 21:12:11

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,595
Website

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

I found that in two different systems with the same video driver; in one the effects work and not in the other.
I also added the full compiz package and see no difference... I think this is a software issue (well it has to be, KDE 4 has proven to be of very poor quality so far).
Does any one know how to troubleshoot this problem so we can submit a bug to the KDE team?

R.

Offline

#5 2008-08-02 21:19:02

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

If you use the Nvidia driver this might be your problem. But try using VSync; this might solve your problem.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#6 2008-08-02 21:27:42

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,595
Website

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

Nope, not Envidia, Intel drivers in both machines (the one working and the one not working).

R.

Offline

#7 2008-08-02 21:30:55

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

#7

Are you using xf86-video-intel? Because here it works like it should. Although I would want it to perform better.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#8 2008-08-02 21:38:30

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,595
Website

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

I'm using that driver in one of them (the one that works) but the laptop takes i810 (I think).
I may give it a try with the the xf86 driver see what happens ...

R.

Offline

#9 2008-08-02 21:43:50

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: KDE4 destop effects not working

ralvez wrote:

I'm using that driver in one of them (the one that works) but the laptop takes i810 (I think).
I may give it a try with the the xf86 driver see what happens ...

R.

Yeah, the i810 driver will soon be outfased in favor to the intel driver.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB